Not ANOTHER food blog!!!

Yes, yes, another food blog.

What will be different, you ask, from the seventy bajillion other food blogs out there?

Well, nothing, really.  Except that it’s mine.

What’s so special about me?  Again, nothing really.

(Gee, you really want to subscribe and read along, don’t you?)

Let me explain.

I learned how to cook at a very young age.  Partly because in my family my father did most of the cooking- my mother didn’t like to cook and my father did.  It didn’t mean she couldn’t cook, just that she didn’t want to bother.  When my parents divorced, my mother turned to me and said, basically, “Ok, your turn.”

Of course, she didn’t leave me alone in the kitchen until I was old enough to be somewhat safe.  She did teach me how to make basics such as scrambled eggs.  In fact, I wanted to make scrambled eggs for my father on Father’s Day.  Mum talked me through it and let me have a  practice run at home.  All went well.  When I got to my father’s apartment and tried it…  well, let’s leave that for another post.  A cooking disaster post perhaps.

I really learned to cook by my Grandmother’s side.  She had a huge kitchen that had been designed to her specifics.  Lots of counter space, lots of storage space, an island stove, two wall ovens.  It was grand.  I would spend afternoons with her, watching and learning and helping as she made dinner, baked cookies, made breakfast. It was a perfect time, just the two of us.

And my Grandmother could cook.  She could make anything- sushi, fish, traditional Jewish dishes, Chinese, Japanese, cake, cookies, vegetarian, lamb, steak… well, you get the idea.  Grandma was in Boston when Julia Child was starting out and they became friends.  Julia and her husband used to buy wine from my Grandfather’s store and Julia and my Grandmother would talk food.  Grandma knew lots of local chefs and she had several autographed cookbooks with inscriptions that said things like, “To my dear friend {grandma’s name}…”

After she and my Grandfather passed away, I moved into their house, into her kitchen.  Now, every single day as I move around her space, I can hear her talking to me.  When I make dinner, I use her pots and pans (good quality stuff that lasts!), I use her recipes and I use her techniques.  As I make food for my immediate family, I recall the times when my Grandmother made the same things for her family.

And I remember the stories.  So many stories.  Some have been told to me second- or third- hand by my uncles and my mother.  Like how they used to grade my grandmother’s meals.  Or how they each had a chore to do after dinner and since my mother’s was to clear the table, she used to clear as soon as she was done, regardless of if others were also finished.  Sometimes I remember events,  like the time my entire extended family was home, including cousins from Israel, and there was a blizzard.  We were all snowed in together for a few days and the house was full to the brim with people, wet socks and laughter.

There have been many happy- and some not so happy- times around my family’s table.  It was my Grandmother’s table first and now it is mine.  So I want to share these recipes with you, as well as the family stories that accompany them.  I want to paint a picture of a family that is complex, crazy and, at times, highly dysfunctional, but that is always, always well-fed.  My family history can be told using food.

I can’t think of a better tribute to my Grandmother and the family she created than to share her food with the world.

Join me, won’t you?

3 thoughts on “Not ANOTHER food blog!!!

  1. I love the idea for this blog and that you live in your grandma’s house and use her kitchen. Awesome. I am also super jealous that your grandparents knew Julia Child.

    Can’t wait to read more!

  2. What a beautiful introduction! Your grandma sounds amazing and I love that you are now cooking in her kitchen. I look forward to many yummy recipes (and stories) to come!

Leave a Reply

