Sour Grapes…er, Blueberries

Sometimes I’ll bring you recipes that are classic, tried and true and generally based in my family history.  Sometimes I’ll present you with something else entirely- a recipe that I’ve improvised out of what was on hand, a recipe that is neither tried nor true nor particularly well measured or thought out.  Something for you to try at your own risk.  This is one of those times.

I bought blueberries at the Farmer’s Market last week because my husband is a blueberry fiend.  He’ll eat them by the handful until his lips, teeth and fingers are purple (which makes me wonder why they aren’t called purpleberries but I suppose that’s another post).  Sadly, the ones that I purchased were a bit, um, tangy.  Sour even.  Not that this stopped my husband from trying to eat them all. He got a few handfuls in and then had to give up.  Tart blueberries: 1, Husband: 0.

So I decided to take the ones that were left and sweeten them up a bit.  I’d made this blueberry kuchen from Lady Gouda a few weeks ago and it was met with great delight at my house.  I didn’t have enough blueberries to justify an entire tart.  I also had in mind the peach blueberry crumble I posted about here.  But I had no peaches.  So I sort of mooshed those together in my mind and ended up with very small blueberry tarts with crumble topping.  A nice cross between the two.

Mini Blueberry Crumbles

Ingredients:

Crust (which is taken from Lady Gouda’s Blueberry Kuchen, I just halved it)

3/4 cup of flour

2 Tablespoons white sugar

6 Tablespoons unsalted butter, cold and cut into smallish pieces

3/4 Tablespoon white vinegar

Filling:

Blueberries (I probably had about half a pint)

Cane or white sugar (I think I used 3-4 tablespoons)

vanilla (I used about 1 Tablespoon)

cinnamon (just a dash or two)

Water

Topping:

1/4-1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/8 cup white sugar

4-6 tablespoons butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a muffin-tin lightly with Pam or some other nonstick spray (or use a nonstick tin, like I did).

Make the crust:  in a food processor combine the flour and white sugar and maybe a pinch of salt, if you’re so inclined.  Give it a few whirls.  Then, add the butter and process until the butter is the size of peas.  Add the vinegar and process again- at this point, it should be a sort of dry-ish dough.  If you don’t have a food processor, never fear.  You can combine the flour, sugar and salt in a bowl and then cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or some knives or your fingers.  Once the butter is the size of peas, sprinkle in the vinegar and combine.

Press the crust into the muffin tins- you want enough to cover the bottom and a little bit up the sides of the tin.  Bake in the oven for about 5 minutes or until slightly golden- not too much as these will bake again in a little bit. Set them aside to cool.

Make the filling:  In a small saucepan, combine the blueberries, sugar and a few tablespoons of water.  How much you add will depend on how many blueberries you have.  I combined all of this and let it sort of melt and boil down.  In the end, I had a sort of chunky syrup, not quite as thick as pie filling.  You want it to boil down but not burn so keep an eye on it.

Make the topping:  In a small bowl, combine all ingredients except the butter.  Cut the butter into smallish pieces and use your fingers (or a pastry cutter) to break it up into roughly pea-size.  For more details and photos, check out this post.

Spoon the filling into the baked crusts. Just a little bit- make it look kind of like a mini-tart.  Sprinkle the topping over each one.  I had lots of topping left over.  Shucks.  I’ll have to make something else this week that requires brown sugar/butter goodness.  Darn.

Bake for about 5 minutes or until the topping is sort of bubbly and brown(er).  Let them cool and be careful removing these as they are somewhat fragile.

2 thoughts on “Sour Grapes…er, Blueberries

  1. Oh wow these look SO good. I really like the idea of making little individualized tarts… with just two of us in the house, I would probably only make the Kuchen when I was expecting company or with my family. The little tarts are a great way of making just a few servings of the blueberry delicious-ness. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

