My First Kitchen Fail

Not everything I make is delicious.  No, it’s true, I sometimes make things that fall flat.  It’s not often, mind you, but it does happen.

The first time it happened, I was maybe 9 years old.  My parents had recently divorced and I wanted to make my father breakfast for Father’s Day.  My mother thought it was a nice idea (I had already learned to make her breakfast in bed- toast and tea- she trained me early) and taught me how to make scrambled eggs.  I watched her do it and paid close attention so that I could emulate it at Dad’s apartment.

That Sunday was bright and clear.  I got up, ready to make eggs.  I went into the kitchen and gathered what I needed.  Eggs?  Check.  Milk?  Check.  Butter?  Check.  Frying pan? Yup.  Bowl and fork?  Got it.  I cracked a few eggs, fished the extra shell out of the bowl and whipped them together with the milk.  I melted some butter in the pan and then added the eggs.  As I watched them begin to cook, I started to worry that it wasn’t going to be enough.  I mean it didn’t look like much scrambled egg.  So I cracked a few more, added some milk and throw it in the pan with the original mix.  It still didn’t look like enough.  (Can you see where this is going?)  So I repeated the process and added more egg to the pan.

I used an entire dozen eggs.  They filled the pan to the brim and then wouldn’t cook because the pan was so full.  It was a disaster.  My dad was so touched that I’d tried that he didn’t care and I think he ended up making pancakes for us (he went out for more eggs).  I was mortified but it didn’t keep me from trying other dishes.  In fact, it set me on a quest to find the best scrambled eggs.  I found ’em, in the Boston Globe Magazine.  Written by- who else?- Julia Child.

Julia’s Eggs

Ingredients:

2-3 Eggs

Dash (no more than 2 Tablespoons) milk

Gobs of butter

Salt and Pepper

Directions:

Crack the eggs into a bowl.  Fish out any extra shell.  Whip them together with the milk until combined.  Add a dash of salt and lots of pepper.

In a large frying pan melt a Tablespoon of butter over medium high heat.  Add the eggs and let them set for a minute or two.

Working from the edge towards the center, push the egg towards the center of the pan with a wooden spoon or spatula.  Work your way around the edge, pushing the egg towards the center each time.  It will sort of fold in towards itself.

Be gentle with it.  You want the eggs to stay sort of silky.

If you like your eggs very dry, you may want to also incorporate a little flip, to ensure that the top side cooks before the bottom side browns.

Once your eggs are cooked, add another bit of butter, 1-2 Tablespoons, and mix it around into the eggs.

The eggs will be silky, yummy and buttery.  What could be bad?  The last time I made these, I served them up in a fresh biscuit with some cheese. Yeh, my husband loves me.

I’ll post the biscuit recipe soon, I promise.  Those are some good biscuits.

Leave a Reply

