Breakfast of Champions

Around these parts breakfast is a serious meal. At least during the weekends. I thought I knew what breakfast was until I married my husband and then I found out that breakfast has a number of meanings.

Growing up, breakfast used to be bagels and cream cheese and lox every Sunday.  My grandmother would put out what I think of as the “breakfast” china and my uncle and his wife would come over and we’d all just sit around, eating bagels and reading the newspaper.

The breakfast china

If it was a weekend when I was with my father, breakfast was french toast or pancakes made with Dad’s special touches- cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla in the batter.  If it was a weekend with my mother, one or both of us would walk up to Bildner’s (which is no longer there) and buy a few muffins for us to share.  Banana nut was my favorite. Or my mother might ask me to make biscuits as she loved those.  Back then I always used Jiffy (kind of like bisquick) and a little bit of milk.  Mmmm, biscuits with jam.

For my husband, breakfast means eggs.  Lots and lots of eggs.  In his glory days, it was 6 to 10 eggs at a time, always scrambled.  Sometimes it’s pancakes or waffles or french toast- in fact, early in our relationship he made me french toast which was great but after I ate it, I went home and, well, it came back up.  I don’t blame the toast but rather, the seventeen million or so espresso martinis I’d had the night before.  Boy, those do sneak up on you!

My husband also eats breakfast any time.  No, not like the old joke, in the Renaissance or Golden Age, but any time of day.  When it’s his night to cook dinner he tends towards what we call “upside down dinner”- that’s right, breakfast.  But hey, I can’t complain because it’s one night when I don’t cook and his eggs are pretty tasty.  I’ve taught him to make a frittata as well and he’s gotten pretty good at that.

But I digress.  What I’m going to give you today is perhaps the perfect mix of breakfast- his and mine.  Eggs in a biscuit.  I love, love, love biscuits, he loves, loves, loves eggs.  A perfect marriage.  Plus, there’s always biscuits left over for snacking. With jam, with butter, just plain….  Mmmmm….

Eggs In A Biscuit

Biscuits (made almost exactly as this recipe from Gourmet, posted on epicurious.com)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

3 Tablespoons sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 stick (1/4 cup) cold, unsalted butter, cut into pieces

3/4 cup buttermilk*

1 Tablespoon milk, cream or buttermilk, for brushing on the biscuits before baking

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Place parchment paper or silpat or foil on a baking sheet.

Place all the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt) in to a food processor and whirl a few times to mix. 

Feed the butter pieces

through the feed chute and whirl until the mixture resembles crumbles or small peas.

With the processor on, pour the buttermilk through the feed chute.  All of a sudden you’ll have a ball of dough.

Sprinkle some flour on a work surface and scrape out the dough onto it.  Make a rough ball with the dough and turn it a few times with your hands- it’ll be sticky, so flour your hands as well.  Shape it into a rough rectangle and cut out biscuits with a cookie or biscuit cutter or use an upside down glass.  This recipe technically makes 6 biscuits which are pretty big and rather puffy.  I never measure my rectangle but the Gourmet recipe suggests that the rectangle be 8 by 5.5 inches.

Place biscuits on sheet and brush with milk/cream/buttermilk.

Bake in oven for 12-15 minutes or until sort of just golden.

If you don’t have a food processor, you can easily cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or your fingers or forks or whatever you have on hand.  It’ll just take longer.  Then, just use a spoon to mix in the buttermilk and then your hands.

*If you don’t have buttermilk on hand, place 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar into a liquid measuring cup.  Add enough milk to bring the measurement to one cup.  Let it stand for 5 minutes and then use 3/4 of a cup of that.

Eggs:

Make eggs using Julia’s recipe (as adapted by me) or your own scrambled egg recipe.

Eggs in a biscuit:

Slice biscuit in half.  If you’re so inclined, you can butter one or both sides of the biscuit.  You may also want to add a slice or two of your favorite cheese.  Place eggs on top of one half of biscuit.  If you like ketchup on your eggs, this is a good time to add some.  Place other half of biscuit on top and there you have it.  The perfect breakfast!

One thought on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. Pingback: Too Lazy To Cook « My Family Table

Leave a Reply

