The other, other white meat?

One of the dishes I can remember Grandma making quite often was lamb.  Now, I’m not sure if lamb counts as red meat or white meat and I don’t know if it was inexpensive in her day but it’s not cheap now.  But I can remember eating it often.  I’m also not sure when I connected what I was eating to the cute little lambs that I saw on class visits to the farm but once I did, I couldn’t quite feel the same way about the lambs (both the one I was eating and the cute ones on the farm).  So cute!  So delicious!  Such a conundrum!

Grandma once made mutton, just to see what it was like, I think.  And we all sat around, pretending to be in Medieval times, gnawing on our huge legs of mutton.  Funny, I can’t remember what it tasted like….old lamb, probably.

I haven’t really eaten lamb since Grandma died.  I really only ate it when she made it and when it’s on a menu, more often than not I’ll pass.  Not sure why. I think there’s always other stuff that sounds better.  At any rate, I found Grandma’s lamb recipe when organizing her recipe box and attempted to recreate it. I’m a novice at cooking lamb but it came out correctly, I think.  My husband wasn’t a fan because the texture is quite different from steak and I think he was expecting it to be similar.

No matter, really,  because when I took that first bite I felt like Grandma was next to me again.  It tasted exactly like I remember her lamb tasting.  I almost cried with wanting her to really be there.  So, it is with great emotion that I give you the following recipe.  Eat at your own risk- you might be overcome with emotion for your own grandmother.  Well, only if she cooked lamb, of course.

Grandma’s Lamb

Ingredients:

6 lb leg lamb (I actually used bone-in chops as they were cheaper)

1/2 cup dijon mustard

2 Tablespoons soy sauce

1 clove crushed garlic

1 teaspoon rosemary

1/4 teaspoon powdered ginger

2 Tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Place the lamb on a rack and into a baking pan.  In a small bowl, mix together all ingredients except the olive oil.  Once it’s smooth and combined, beat in the olive oil.  Use a brush to “paint” it onto the lamb.  Be generous.

Grandma says to roast it for 10 minutes per pound (so if you used the six pound leg, that’d be 60 minutes of cooking).  I may have rushed mine a bit by bumping up the heat and shortening the cooking time (I was hungry).

I honestly can’t remember what Grandma served with her lamb but I’m willing to bet potatos were involved. I roasted some and then made some roasted cauliflower with tomatos, for color.

3 thoughts on “The other, other white meat?

  1. My grandma made lamb a lot, too – but nothing like this. Always served with mint jelly. I have this idea that I don’t like lamb, but that’s probably just the child version of me speaking.

  2. Susan, you never know! I may make something you’ll cook one of these days. Kate, I know that mint jelly is traditional but, I must confess, I don’t really like mint all that much.

Leave a Reply

