Still here!

But definitely buried under testing reports, interviews and other assorted day-to-day tasks…  Which doesn’t mean I’m not cooking.  Of course I’m cooking.  Every night, in fact.  Just not taking photos or notes on what it is I’m making.  This week, for instance, I’ve made a ricotta frittata (recipe here), penne with bacon, tomatos and cheese (recipe here), and Quinoa with black beans (recipe here).  I’m trying to eat more quinoa since it’s so healthy and good for you but I’ve had trouble finding ways to make it that taste good.  It’s an odd texture and taste.  I did like the way I made it this week but of course, made some adjustments so I’ll reprint it here.  No photos though, sorry.

Quinoa with Black Beans

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

2 cups chopped white onions

1 cup chopped red pepper

1 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained

2 teaspoons chili powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

1 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained

Crumbled cotija cheese or feta cheese

Instructions (my notes are in red, the rest are instructions from the original recipe)

Heat oil in heavy medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onions and red pepper; sauté until beginning to soften, about 5 minutes. Add rinsed quinoa, salt, cumin and chili powder and cook for ten minutes or so. Add water (I used chicken broth); bring to boil. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer until quinoa is almost tender, about 14 minutes. Add beans and 1/4 cup cilantro (I did not.  I hate cilantro); cook uncovered until heated through and liquid is fully absorbed, about 3 minutes. Transfer to bowl; sprinkle with 1/4 cup cilantro and cheese, if desired.(I always desire cheese.  I used feta and stirred it in so it would get softer and melty-er.  I think the cotija cheese might be better but the feta wasn’t bad)

My husband has requested meatloaf so I’ll be making that tomorrow and will perhaps remember to photograph it.  We can only hope, right?

5 thoughts on “Still here!

  1. I recently invested in Quinoa, so I am pleased to see your recipe! I like your changes. I may make it with the ingredients I have. I hope it will be good. I have pepperjack cheese and chili beans. I like cilantro but I don’t have any today. Hm. La la la. It’s nice to make substitutions when necessary. If the worst happens, we learn from it. Black beans and chili beans are very different as are feta and papperjack. Maybe I’ll wait until I shop. Thank you for sharing…

  2. Looks wonderful, and I know my daughter-in-love will love it – it’s gluten free! My son love to cook, and I’m quite sure he will cook this for her!

    BTW, I was delighted to see that you are also a cilantro-hater! Why would anyone want to put soap on their food? 😀 I did read somewhere or heard on NPR that those who like cilantro probably (not always) grew up on/with it, because if early on you orient your taste buds to it, you do not detect the soapy flavor at all! But many different soaps are made with cilantro, which for me means “case closed!” I never served it while my boys were growing up, but my eldest son still likes it! Exception that proves the rule, I guess.

    😀

  3. Carol Ann- make sure to rinse the quinoa really, really well- several changes of water in a mesh sieve- or it will be extremely bitter. The ten minutes of cooking also helps- toasting it up helps with the bitter.

    Paula- Yes, soap. Yuck.

  4. Pingback: Unexpected Yummy « My Family Table

Leave a Reply

