Weekends In My Kitchen

Weekends in my kitchen are hectic. 

I try to cook as much as possible so that during the week I’m mostly heating up or throwing a few things together.  This means chopping veggies, making sauces and making baby food.  The baby food is obviously, a new addition but every weekend I chop, steam and puree sweet potatos, squash, peas, apples, pears and all kinds of other fruits and veggies for the baby.  I then freeze them and use them during the week.

Today I was making a sauce for baked pasta later in the day.  It involved mushrooms, onions, garlic and canned tomatos.  I wasn’t cooking with recipes today, just sort of winging it.  I ended up with a pretty good sauce that was pretty simple.  I sautéed a bit of onion and garlic and some sliced mushrooms and then added a can of crushed tomatos, a can of stewed tomatos and a can of tomato paste.  I seasoned with salt, pepper, oregano, basil and a bit of sugar to cut the acid of the tomatos.  I let that cook over medium heat until it was all warm and tasty.

I then mixed in some ricotta cheese and some grated parmesan. I also added one egg, as a binder.  I stirred in a few handfuls of baby spinach leaves and then a box of cooked rotini.  I mixed it all together and put it into a casserole dish with some grated parmesan on top.  It baked at about 375 for about 30 minutes and was just delish.  See, sometimes you don’t need a recipe!  (Sorry that there’s no photo of it- I am currently upstairs with the baby who will not sleep and can’t get downstairs to take a photo).  Perhaps I’ll get one tomorrow and add it in…

Happy weekend cooking to you all!

One thought on “Weekends In My Kitchen

  1. Pingback: September Comfort « My Family Table

Leave a Reply

