Festival of Lights, 3rd night

As promised, Risotto Cakes.

The risotto cakes are over there on the left.

Once again, we are celebrating oil.  Ah, oil.  Shiny, shimmery, burns like a mother*&^% oil.  You see, I have never once, NOT ONCE, managed to use oil for more than a quick saute and not burn myself.  It’s so commonplace for me at this point that it often doesn’t even register until I look at my hands, arms or sometimes neck (depends on the season/clothes and just what I’m frying) after I’m done cooking and notice the little red burns.  Ouch.  So, remember, safety first!  Be careful!

Risotto Cakes

Ingredients:

One recipe of squash (or other flavor, mushroom might be nice) risotto, cooked and cooled. (I made mine the night before)

1-2 eggs

1-2 cups flour

1-3 cups breadcrumbs (I used ready-made plain but I can see where fresh or flavored or even panko would be better)

Olive oil (lots, this is, after all, the festival of oil!!)

Directions:

Using damp hands, mold your risotto into small balls and flatten into cakes.  Set up a workstation with the flour in one bowl or plate, the beaten eggs in another and the breadcrumbs in a third.  Have a piece of waxed paper ready for the coated cakes to sit on while you work on the others.

I'm ready for action. And you can see the baby monitor there- the girl was sweet enough to take a 2 hour nap yesterday so that I could do all this cooking!

Here’s where it gets messy.  People who do breading will tell you to use one hand for wet and the other for dry but I’ve never been able to figure that out.  If you can, more power to you.  Instead, I just get really messy and gloopy and wash my hands a few times as I go through the process.  Anyway, dip your risotto cake into the flour, coating it and shaking (gentle here or your cake will fall apart) off the excess.  Then dip it into the egg so that it’s coated.  Again, let the excess drip off.  Finally, dip it into the breadcrumbs and sort of pat to ensure that there’s an even coating.  Place on the wax paper and continue with the next cake.  Now, I would have taken a photo of this but I was alone in the kitchen and my heads were all sticky.  Sorry.  Here are my cakes, patiently waiting for the oil bath they’re about to take:

See?  Nice even coating, not too thick.   Heat some olive oil in a saute pan and when it’s hot (again, it’ll be sort of shimmery and wavey) add the risotto cakes.  Cook until brown and then carefully flip (this is where the phrase, “Safety First” comes in handy) and let the other side brown.  It probably took about 3-4 minutes on each side for me and I was using medium heat.Serve ’em up!

One thought on “Festival of Lights, 3rd night

Leave a Reply

