Festival of Lights, Night 5

Applesauce.  So simple, yet so tasty.  It’s perfect for snacking, dessert, adding to cakes and, oh, yes, eating on top of latkes.  Now, I know that there are a zillion and one recipes for applesauce.  Some have you add apple cider or juice, some use rum, others use sugar or honey.  I prefer my applesauce plain with a little bit of cinnamon.  If you choose the correct apples, you don’t really need any sugar- they’re just sweet enough and tart enough on their own.  The cinnamon adds a bit of warmth and it’s all just so yummy and comforting.

So here’s my method.  The measurements are sketchy (that is to say, well, nonexistent!), the method is what counts.

Ingredients:

4 apples (I used two golden delicious and two honeycrisp)

Cinnamon

Directions:

I have to fully confess that I used my beaba babycook to do this.  I made several small batches and then just zipped it with the blades.  So easy.  But I will write this as though I didn’t do that.

Wash your apples.  Don’t bother to peel them.  Chop them up into small squareish pieces and place them into a steamer basket.  Boil a few inches of water in a saucepan and put the steamer basket into the pan.  Cover and cook until the apples are soft (don’t let the water boil away or you’ll ruin your pot).  Once they’re soft, put them into a bowl.  Add some of the water from the pot and use an immersion blender to puree them (you could also use a regular blender).  Add water from the pot until it’s the consistency you like.  Sprinkle in some cinnamon and ta-da!!  You have made applesauce. 

Now, you could season it up a bit, with nutmeg or brown sugar or cloves or whatever you like.  I like mine plain and simple.  Mmmmmm.  Comfort food!

One thought on “Festival of Lights, Night 5

Leave a Reply

