Eat This Soup. NOW.

Two of my favorite bloggers have recently blogged about this soup.  It was the creation of Lady Gouda and then the Hippo put her twist on it.  I’ve been meaning to make it and I finally did last week. 

Oh. My. God.

It is so good.  SO good!!!

I did a few twists on the recipe myself which leads me to believe that it’s a soup recipe that can handle lots of changes and which can be tweaked to fit everyone’s tastes. Seriously, it was so good.  We ate it all within two days.  So good.

Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients

1-2″ piece of ginger, peeled and minced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons sesame oil
1/2 cup onion diced finely
3-4 chopped carrots (I used baby carrots so more like 5-10)
2 cups cooked chicken- I chopped up two chicken breasts I’d made earlier
5 cups chicken broth
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1-2 teaspoons  sriracha
1-2 heads baby bok choy, washed and chopped (not the very bottom)
3-4 oz lo-mein noodles, cooked

Directions:

Heat the sesame oil in a soup pot over medium heat.  Add the onions, garlic and carrots and let them soften.  Add the chicken, soy sauce and sriracha.  Let these sort of soak up and then pour the chicken broth over it.  Let it simmer together.  Cook the lo-mein noodles for 3-4 minutes.  Add the noodles and bok choy to the soup.  Taste and season as needed.

I think this soup could also stand up to celery, fish sauce (which I bought especially for this and then forgot to add it!) and maybe even some egg (like egg drop soup).  Maybe even some tofu or pork. Crunchy bean sprouts on top maybe?  I think the possibilities are limitless!

One thought on “Eat This Soup. NOW.

Leave a Reply

