The Passover Plate

It occurred to me that I didn’t tell you about the passover plate.  No seder is complete without the plate at the center of the table with its foods which symbolize different things.  When I got married a new seder plate was one of the few religious-related things for which I registered.  I made sure to register for one which specifically delineated what needed to be on it- the one I had previously was written in Hebrew so a part of each seder prep was three of us, standing around, trying to sound out the letters to figure out where to put everything.  This is my nice new, uncomplicated one:So, what goes on the plate, you ask?  Well, you can click here for an explanation but I’ll give you my own.

The lamb shank, which symbolizes an offering from the temple in Jerusalem.

A roasted egg (I hard boil mine and then roast it in the oven), which is another offering.

Bitter herbs, usually horseradish and parsley, to represent all the bitterness and hardship the Jews have had to endure.

Greens, representing spring and the harvest.

Charoset, which is supposed to represent the mortar used by the Jews when they were slaves in Egypt, building with bricks.

While I didn’t photograph it, I made some really good charoset this year.  It’s there on the left, next to the greens.

It’s generally an apple and nut mixture- some add dates or other fruits but I keep mine simple.

Charoset

Ingredients:

3 apples (I like fuji or gala)

1 1/2 cups walnuts, toasted in the oven for a few minutes

1/4 cup of Manischewitz

1/4 cup honey

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 tablespoon brown sugar

Directions:

Peel and core the apples.  Cut them into wedges and then toss them in the cuisnart.  Once the walnuts are toasted, throw those in as well.  Pulse a few times and then add the honey, wine, sugar and cinnamon.  Pulse a few more times to combine- don’t make paste!

This will taste even better if made a few hours in advance.

A few more Passover Table photos:

I really should have registered for new, matching Haggadahs. Right now we have about 18 and they aren't all the same.

All of us, sitting and ready.

So ends my passover recipes.  Happy Spring!

One thought on “The Passover Plate

  1. But…but…half the fun was guessing what the parts were. So organized. So pretty! At least there’s still mystery at my mother-in-law’s ; )

Leave a Reply

