My Taste Buds Remember

It’s finally here:  vacation.

Big sigh of relief!

Of course, you’ve not seen an increase in posting because of about a million other things that have been getting in the way of cooking.  There’s one thing in particular but I need a few more weeks before I can blog about it.  In general, though, it’s been due to exhaustion.  My little monster has suddenly turned into a full-blown toddler and I’m spending all my vacation days chasing after her.  She’s fast!

Despite the tired, I did manage to crack open Grandma’s recipe box this week.  I found a card entitled, “Good sauce for chicken or london broil.”

I read the recipe and thought, “gee, I have all these ingredients and I have chicken in the freezer, why not?”  But I couldn’t, for the life of me, remember a sauce anything like this from past Grandma meals. The instructions on the card were…. sparse.  In fact, other than the list of ingredients, the only thing noted was “Makes a lot.”  What to do?  Call The Hungry Hippo, of course.  After consultation with her, we agreed to treat it like a bbq sauce- brush it on the chicken lightly while cooking and then again just before it was done.  Being sure, of course, to heat the sauce itself in between so as to kill all raw chicken germs.  It worked like a charm.

And when I tasted it, I was instantly transported back to Grandma’s table.  Of course I knew this sauce.  I just didn’t know I knew.  My brain didn’t know but my taste buds remembered.

Good Sauce for London Broil or Chicken

Ingredients

1 teaspoon salt (I found the sauce to be quite salty so I would probably leave this out next time)

1 teaspoon basil (I used fresh)

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup ketchup

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup corn oil (I used canola)

2 cloves crushed minced garlic

Directions:

If you are lucky enough to have a friend like my friend K., go out to your front step and pick some basil out of the planter full of herbs that she brought you for your birthday.  Three or so medium leaves should do it.

It's really something- basil, thyme, rosemary... it's a thing of beauty and I pray every day that I don't inadvertently kill it.

Chop up your leaves. 

I did a very rough chop.  If you don’t have fresh, I’m sure dried will work just as well.

Throw all ingredients together into a bowl.  Mine looked rather, um, yucky before I stirred it.

(I apologize for the horrible photos this post.  I really ought to look into getting a better camera if I’m going to continue to do this food blogging thing!)

Whisk it all until it’s combined.  It will have the consistency of bbq sauce.

Set aside.  I decided to use mine on chicken so I seasoned the chicken breasts with salt and pepper.

After heating my grill pan (over medium high heat), I brushed the chicken with a little bit of olive oil and put it in the pan to brown.

I flipped it to let it brown on the other side.

I then brushed it with a thin layer of the sauce and put the whole thing in the oven at about 400 degrees to let it cook through.  I continued to baste every few minutes or so.  Meanwhile, I heated the sauce in a saucepan over medium heat until it was boiling, so as to kill off any of the raw chicken germs.  This reduced the sauce somewhat which may have added to the
strong salt flavor.  If you’d rather, you can simply divide the sauce into small containers  and use one for brushing on the raw chicken and the rest for brushing on the cooked chicken.  For me that’s a lot of dishes I’d rather not do.  I just heat it.

I took it out when it reached 150 degrees and let it sit (last I checked, USDA recommendation for cooked chicken was 160 but it continues to cook after you take it out of the oven and you must let it rest so that the juices redistribute and it’s not dry).  After it rested, I sliced it up and served it for dinner.  I had sauce leftover so that went into the fridge and will be used again later in the week. 

It got rave reviews around here.  Or at least, the baby toddler liked it.  It’s sort of salty and sweet at the same time and has a slight asian flavor to it (from the soy).  It’s not quite bbq sauce, not quite fully asian.  It is, as grandma said, a good sauce for chicken!

4 thoughts on “My Taste Buds Remember

  1. That looks delicious – I am going to have to try it. Oh, and if you kill the pot of herbs on your front steps I will totally replace it.

  2. Pingback: Take Two « My Family Table

Leave a Reply

