Summer

It’s summer! This means pool, sun, warm and fireworks!

Here’s the babe last year:

and here she is this year:

For the record, I'm not wearing the same shirt. It's just the same color.

Best of all, summer means the farmer’s market!  I love our farmer’s market.

The bounty from our first farmer's market of the year.

What to do with all those lovely tomatoes?  Well, we simply ate the cherry ones- the yellow ones were as sweet as candy.  The rest I planned to use in a tomato basil tart.  But then I saw Martha Stewart on the Today show and her tarts were so much easier that I decided to try hers.  Back to the farmer’s market today so I’ll buy more tomatoes and make that tomato basil tart later this week.

Martha’s Easy Tomato Tart

Ingredients

Puff Pastry

tomatoes

Cheese (Parmesan, mozzarella, fontina- whatever you like)

salt, pepper

Basil for garnish

Olive oil for brushing over tomatoes before baking

Directions:

Let the puff pastry defrost on the counter or in the refrigerator.Once it’s defrosted (in that you can unfold it without it cracking), sprinkle it with a little bit of flour and roll it until it’s slightly thinner- I went for about 1/4 to 1/8 of an inch.  At this point, you can either use a big round to neatly make tarts or you can use a knife to make square ones.  You want them to be big enough to hold full tomato slices so base it on the size of your tomatoes.  Set them aside on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or silpat.  Slice your tomatoes.

Grate your cheese and spread a layer on the puff pastry squares/rounds.  Place a few tomato slices atop the cheese.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and then brush with olive oil. 

Bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes or until the cheese is melty and the puff pastry is golden brown.    Garnish with fresh basil and serve warm.  Although, full disclosure, I also ate these at room temperature and they were still quite fine.  Sorry about the lack of photos on this post- I ended up making them while on the phone with L, a good friend I hadn’t spoken with in some time.  So I forgot to photo.  Sorrysorrysorry.

One thought on “Summer

  1. OH!! I saw Martha make these the other day and told myself that I MUST make these this summer…. they seem like such an excellent summer treat.

    Those tomatoes are gorgeous- I haven’t really seen them at our market yet! I can’t wait…

Leave a Reply

