C’mon Irene…!

So, here we are in the midst of Hurricane Tropical StormN’oreaster Irene.  So far, my yard and neighborhood has been ok.  Inside, our basement is flooding a bit, as it always does when it rains (a few inches in some places, nothing like what most people have to clean) and we have  an old leak in our kitchen ceiling (we’ll be getting that fixed SOON).

The leak....it's growing!

Outside isn’t too bad yet.  We have what amounts to some twigs and leaves on the deck:
and a few larger branches down near the pool equipment.  I went out earlier and hauled a medium sized branch out of the pool for easier clean-up later.

People around here have a healthy respect for the whether, for the most part.  I think we have more experience with things like snow rather than hurricanes but it’s a universal reaction to run to the store in the days before a predicted storm to stock up on staples.  You know, milk, bread and eggs.  So we can all make french toast to our hearts’ content.  There’s even a french toast alert system. Honestly, as I wandered the aisles of the crowded store yesterday, I wondered what I could make if the power went out (we have all electric appliances) or, more importantly, what I could have on hand that wouldn’t need heating.  I have the usual- tuna, cheese, peanut butter- but none of those are that appealing.  I decided on a quiona salad with tomato, cucumber, red pepper and feta. I also had some roasted chicken so we could make chicken salad if needed.

But when we woke this morning (at an ungodly hour because apparently G. was anxious to meet Irene, in whatever form she arrived), we had power and nothing was amiss.  So, french toast it was.  Hurricane french toast, if you will.

My french toast is generally eyeballed.  I don’t use measurements.  However, if you look up a recipe (as I did to write this post), here’s what you need:

Ingredients

Loaf of bread, slightly stale is ok, challah is the best, especially if you can buy it from Cheryl Ann’s Bakery.

2-3 eggs

1 cup milk, cream or half and half (whatever you have on hand, I generally have milk)

Optional:  cinnamon, nutmeg, ground clove, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice

Directions:

Whisk the eggs and milk/cream/half and half in a deep-ish bowl.  Sprinkle in the spices, if using.  (I use pumpkin pie spice and none of the others or I use a combo of the others but not the pre-mixed pumpkin pie spice).  Add a teaspoon of vanilla, if using.  Whisk it all together until combined.  Slice your loaf of bread- you should have about 8 pieces, depending on the size of your loaf and thickness of your slices. 

Heat a griddle or large frying pan over medium heat.  My griddle is electric and I generally set it around 250 or 300 degrees farenheit. You can butter it a bit, if you like.  Dip the bread, slice by slice, into the egg mixture, turning to coat each side.

Place the slices on the griddle and cook for a few minutes on each side, until golden brown.

Time to flip!

Serve with maple syrup, berries, powdered sugar, honey or my personal favorite, peanut butter with bananas and maple syrup.  It’s the way a grad school classmate of mine used to eat the free french toast we got at the hotel we all stayed in our first year of school and I’ve eaten it that way ever since.  Plus, it always makes me think of her.

Just add maple syrup!

Okay, folks, I obviously jinxed myself as I wrote this.  Just as I was spell-checking, I heard a thud and looked out my window to see this:

I’m going to quit while I’m ahead, lest something else fall.  I’m off to call the insurance company….

One thought on “C’mon Irene…!

  1. Pingback: A Week of Meals « My Family Table

Leave a Reply

