Unexpected Yummy

I was all set to blog about the pickles I made which were delicious and surprisingly easy.  I mean, who knew you could make pickles without laborious canning- all the jars!  all the heating!  But then I made this salad.  This simple, shouldn’t have really been anything special salad.  So mundane that I didn’t photograph while cooking because, never in a million years, would I put it on the blog.

Except that it was so good I can’t keep it to myself.

You know of my quest to enjoy quinoa.  It’s so good for you and so nutritious.  I just haven’t been a huge fan.  Something about both taste and texture. I’ve tried both red and white.  I’ve preferred red.   I’ve tried- here andhere– but still, it’s somewhat of a chore to eat it.  But now?  Oh, now, I have found the secret, at least for me.

Toasting it.  The longer you let it toast, the better it tastes (thanks to my friend S. for teaching me this- it only took a year for me to put it into practice, despite saying it in each recipe I wrote here!).

So, without further ado, here’s the easiest, healthiest, tastiest, quickest salad/main dish ever:

Quinoa Salad

1/2 cup red quinoa

1 cup chicken broth, veg broth or water

1 onion

2-3 cloves garlic

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 Red Pepper

1 cup sungold (or cherry) tomatoes

Feta cheese (I used the already crumbled kid)

Directions

Pour your quinoa into a mesh sieve and rinse several times with cold water.  Set aside to let it drain.  Peel and chop your onion.  Smush and chop your garlic cloves.  In a saucepan, over medium high, heat your olive oil. Add the onion and garlic.  Let it cook for about 2-3 minutes or until it’s soft.  Add the quinoa and let it get all toasty.  Stir it once in a while and watch so that it doesn’t burn but toast it a good long while.  10, 15 even 20 minutes.  Add the broth and let it cook until it is absorbed, stirring occasionally.  Set it aside and let it cool for about ten minutes.  Meanwhile, wash, d- seed and chop your red pepper into small chunks.  Halve your tomatoes.  Put the cooled quinoa into a bowl, add the veggies and mix.  Add some feta cheese (how much is up to you) and stir.  Pull out your spoon and be pleasantly surprised by how good it is.  It can be eaten warm, at room temp or cold- no matter, still good!

The sweetness of the tomatoes and peppers balances out the saltiness of the feta and the toasty-ness of the quinoa makes it feel filling and satisfying.  Really, this may become my go-to lunch salad.

One thought on “Unexpected Yummy

Leave a Reply

