September Comfort

There’s something about September in New England. Cooler air, brilliantly colored leaves, crisp apples….  It might be my favorite season.  Plus, I look good in sweaters.  (This is an old joke with a family member).  Of course, in New England, as soon as it cools off enough for you to change your closet and put away the grill, it suddenly heats up again and you’re sweltering.

September also means the beginning of the school year.  This year, for me that means I suddenly have no time.  Which means no blogging for me.  No worries, I’m still cooking every night, we’re still eating really well, I’m just not able to photograph it.  Since I’m working more hours this year, I’m also doing a lot more planning and pre-cooking on the weekends.  It’s hectic.  Really.

And makes me long for my grandmother, wishing that she were here to cook for me.  It would be so nice to come home to her and her food all warm and ready.  Sigh.  Since she can’t be here with me, I thought I’d make something that always reminds me of her:  Snickerdoodles.

These are cookies that are both sweet and spicy, chewy and crispy.  They have a flavor unlike any other cookie so once you’ve had one, you’ll always recognize it in the future.  Mostly for me, though, these cookies are an indirect hug from grandma.

Sadly, I couldn’t find her recipe so I borrowed one from Smitten Kitchen.  It’s almost as good as hers and will do in a pinch.

These are perfect for these cool fall days.  They make your kitchen smell like it should, like my grandmother’s kitchen.  Go ahead, make them.  See if you can resist the homey smell and deliciousness.  I’ll bet you can’t.

A Hug From Grandma Snickerdoodles (via Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:

Dough:

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cream of tartar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

16 tablespoons (2 stick or 8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/2  cups sugar

2 large eggs

Coating:

2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

1/4 cup sugar

Directions:

Combine the dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda, cream of tartar) in a small bowl and whisk.  The actual recipe wants you to sift them but if you’ve been reading along here, you know my feelings about that.

In the bowl of your mixer, place the butter and sugar.  If you don’t have a mixer, you can do it by hand, just make sure that your butter is somewhat soft or you’ll kill your wrist.

Mix until it’s all smooth and together. 

Add the eggs and mix again, then add the flour mixture and mix until it’s all incorporated. 

You’ll have to scrape the bowl a bit as you do.

At this point, I put the dough in the fridge for about an hour or two, just to make it a bit easier to use in the next step.  When you’re ready, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Place silpat or parchment on your cookie sheet(s).  On a plate or in a shallow bowl, pour out the cinnamon and sugar.

Whisk together.

With your (clean) hands, make walnut sized balls of dough.  Place them in the cinnamon sugar mixture and roll to coat.

Put them on your cookie sheet, evenly spaced.

Bake for about 10 minutes. They won’t brown but will spread out and look beautiful.

Mmmmm.  I dare you to eat just one.  Bet you can’t.  Addictive.  Little hugs on a plate.

I know, I know, I haven’t been posting.  I’m juggling a lot of things over here in pregnancy/toddler/work-land.  I’ll be getting ready for Rosh Hashanah pretty soon so I’m sure I’ll have some things to talk about then. Hang in with me- I’m hoping to get it together to get over here at least once a week.  Stay tuned…

4 thoughts on “September Comfort

  1. I have grandma’s recipe. Same ingredients, slightly different proportions. e.g. more salt. BTW, she didn’t ask you to sift anything! But she did warn to watch carefully; they burn easily.
    XOX

  2. I also have your grandma’s recipe. It’s in the first of your cookbooks.

    I’ve been planning to make pumpkin snickerdoodles for a week now but didn’t get around to it. Can’t I just have some of yours?

Leave a Reply

