Fresh Fish Fast

As I’ve stated before, my grandmother often made fish.  Surprisingly, I don’t think she ever made it the way I’m about to explain.  I’m not sure why- this was possibly the fastest recipe I’ve ever used and it was totally delicious!  Also, quite healthy.  It’s a technique I’ve read about and I think it can be used with chicken as well.  I got this one from the Legal’s Seafood Cookbook but it does seem like a flexible recipe.  Give it a try and let me know how it goes.

Oven-Steamed Cod with Vegetables

Based on a recipe from the New Legal Sea foods Cookbook

Ingredients

1 1/2- 2 lbs cod fillets (but will work with just about any mild white fish)

6 ounces broccoli

4 ounces mushrooms

1/4 cup chopped onion

1 tablespoon minced sweet marjoram, basil or parsley

salt

pepper

1 tablespoon butter

aluminum foil

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Tear off a large sheet of aluminum foil, large enough to hold the fish and veggies in a packet.

Place the fish in the middle of the foil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Chop up your veggies and cover the fish with them.  Really pile them on.  I started with the broccoli.

I added a few halved cherry tomatoes as well as some garlic. I really just threw them all on top, sort of willy-nilly.

Season this with salt and pepper as well as the spices you’re using.  I’ll be honest, I forgot the marjoram and it was still good!  Fold the foil over to start creating a packet for the fish. Fold the left side over and then the right.

Continue by folding the bottom up and over the two sides. I did it sort of like wrapping a gift.

Pull it up and sort of seal it.

Repeat with the top so that you end up with a fully wrapped package of fish and vegetables.

Place on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven for about 15 minutes.  I had a bit more fish than the recipe called for so it took longer for mine to cook.  The veggies will be crisp-tender and the fish will be succulent and, well, just plain yummy.

Be careful when you unwrap your fishy present, the steam will be very hot (duh) and will come rushing out.  I served mine over rice but it would be equally good over couscous or maybe small pasta.

Leave a Reply

