I am NOT the Next Iron Chef

I’ve confessed before and I will confess again to watching some of the competition shows on Food Network.  I tend to agree with the Hippo in her assessment of the current state of food programing on the channel but I maintain a love for a few of the shows.  Currently, the husband and I watch The Next Iron Chef Super Chefs.  Though, we watch it about a week or two behind since we dvr it.  Anyway, we watched one episode recently wherein Geoffrey Zakarin make an egg and avocado dish and I thought, “Well, I can do that.”  So last week I set out to make it.  I sort of understood what he had done by watching but I scoured the internet to find more guidelines.  Find them I did and the resulting avocado dish was made.  I paired it with the delicious arugula, pomegranate and apple salad by Lady Gouda.

The result?  The salad was the hands down winner- plus it was really pretty.  Make that.  The avocado dish?  Not as great- perhaps because we don’t like cooked avocado, perhaps because I couldn’t get it crispy enough, perhaps I’m just not the Next Iron Chef.  No matter.  I’ll give you that recipe anyway.

GZ’s Avocado and Eggs

1-2 avocados

as many egg yolks as you have avocado slices (for me this was between 5 and 6)

cornmeal (for dusting)

paprika, salt, pepper

parmesan cheese, grated

butter/olive oil

Directions:

Start with your avocados. They should be ripe but not overly so since you’re going to slice them.

Slice the avocados in half to remove the pit.  (My grandmother always used to save them to grow them in a glass of water.  It would grow roots and then she’d throw it out. I’m not sure if anyone has ever successfully grown an avocado plant/tree from the saved seed in a water glass, balanced with toothpicks.)  Then slice them in thirds or so, keeping the skin on. You want about half inch to one inch slices- thick enough to stand up to cooking.

Season them on both sides with salt, pepper and paprika.

On the stove over medium heat, melt some butter and olive oil in an ovenproof skillet.  GZ specified a non-stick one but I didn’t see the need for that. Dredge the avocado slices in the cornmeal (both sides) and drop them into the pan. At the same time, preheat your oven to about 350 degrees farenheit.

Let them brown up before you flip them- it took a few minutes on each side for me.  Again, mine didn’t seem crispy enough but that may have been a heat issue.  It may also have been an expectation issue- I’m not sure they were supposed to be crispy.

Meanwhile, separate your eggs.  I actually experimented and made a few with just the yolks and a few with whole eggs.  The husband deemed the just yolks better.  Slide your egg or egg yolk into the hole in each avocado.

Place them in the oven for about three to five minutes, just long enough to cook the whites but leave the yolks runny.  I overcooked mine because since my first pregnancy runny egg yolks gross me out.  It’s the only food aversion that stuck. When they’re done, take them out and sprinkle with the cheese.

See?  Not so pretty, but intriguing, no?

I also made LG’s salad while I was making the avocado dish.  Her recipe is linked above so I won’t repeat it here but I will share how beautiful the pomegranate seeds are:

Like little rubies.

And our finished plates:

Quite elegant, pretty and fancy!  Sadly, again, the avocado dish won’t be making a second appearance.  However, the salad?  That we’ll be having again.  Often.

2 thoughts on “I am NOT the Next Iron Chef

  1. Hmm… the avocado recipe seems like it might work in THEORY, but I think you are right, cooked avocado can be a bit unappealing. Though I did try avocado fries recently, and they were pretty good (nice and crispy fried outside, rich and creamy inside).

    Glad you liked the salad! I have become a little bit addicted and have made it several times in the last few weeks– once you have the pomegranate seeded, it is just so easy. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. LG: See, I think the crispy outside/creamy inside was what GZ was going for- I just couldn’t quite achieve it! The salad is fantastic and your trick of seeding the pomegranate is perfect. I’ll be making it again….sooooon!

Leave a Reply

