Confessions

I have to confess something.

Food is currently not my friend.

I’ve been having a hard few weeks.  When I’m pregnant, I apparently get gestational diabetes.  It happened when I was carrying Super G. and it’s happening now with the boy.  Last time it was easily diet controlled, this time I’m having a harder time.  Which makes me feel six thousand kinds of guilt and shame since food/weight/body image is such a tender spot for me.  In real life I’m short, strong, healthy and overweight.  I work out a lot (or did before I had Super G.- did triathlons and whatnot) and eat well.  My weight has always been high and I’ve always worried about it- in healthy and not so healthy ways.  So to be diagnosed with gestational diabetes, despite all the lectures from all the doctors about how it’s a hormonal thing, not a weight thing (though there is some debate about that as being overweight is one of the risk factors), just doesn’t sit well with me.

Add to this the fact that I’m apparently back to my first/second trimester routine of nausea/vomiting at random times of day and third trimester constant heartburn, well, I can’t find anything I want to eat.  I’ll eat something- say last night’s chicken/green beans/little bit of stuffing & mashed potatoes- and then an hour or two later, nope, not at all what I wanted.  Ick.

Tonight, though, I thought of and made exactly what I wanted.  Soup.  Which is what I craved during the first few weeks of pregnancy, which was weird since it was spring-moving-into-summer.  Tonight, however, soup is both appropriate and hardy.  I threw together a vegetable soup which could easily be totally vegetarian if you use veg broth rather than chicken.  I used what I had in the house so it’s a random assortment of veggies but it worked.  Seeing all the brightly colored veggies in the pot cheered me immensely.  And so far, it’s staying down.

Vegetable Soup

Ingredients

Broth- I used about 6 cups of chicken but you could easily use more/less depending on how much soup you want and you could also use vegetable broth

1/2 onion, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

3 stalks celery, washed and chopped

1 can stewed tomatoes

1 can white beans, drained and rinsed (you could also use kidney or any other kind, I think.)

about half a cup of green beans, chopped into smallish pieces

frozen corn- I used about 1/4-1/2 a cup

1 small white potato, peeled and chopped into cubes

olive oil, salt, pepper

Optional:  small pasta such as orzo or stelline (which I like because they look like stars and when you’re down on food, who doesn’t love stars as a staple?) and parm cheese

Directions:

In a soup pot over medium heat, saute the onions, carrots and celery until soft.  Add the rest of the veggies and cook for about two to five minutes.

See?  How can that not cheer you up if you’re feeling badly about food?  So bright and colorful!

Add broth to cover and then let the soup simmer for a bit.  How long?  At least until the potatoes are tender.  I think mine sat for about twenty minutes.  At the tail end you can either add your pasta to the soup and let it cook or you can cook it separately and add it to the bowls as you serve.  If you do put it directly into the soup, know that it will get both somewhat mushy and soak up a huge amount of broth, which may need replenishing when re-heating the leftovers.

Not as pretty now, but still good.

Serve with a little bit of parm cheese on top or plain.  Season to taste.  You could add some oregano, basil and/or garlic but I wanted mine plain.

Again, not so pretty but mighty yummy and good for you too!  Just the thing if you’ve overindulged on T-giving pies and cakes.

Leave a Reply

