Lucky Food

Happy New Year’s Day to you!  Did you eat your lucky foods?

I made the hippo’s black-eyed peas and sausage.  For the most part, I followed her recipe but I did make a few adaptations.  It was delicious.  I also tried an…. intriguing dessert.  More on that at the end.

The Hungry Hippo’s Lucky New Year’s Stew

Ingredients:

1/2 onion, diced

2-4 garlic cloves, smashed

1 carrot, peeled and diced

2-4 sausages (I used sweet and hot Italian chicken sausage and used 1.5 of each- saving the other 1/2 of each for a soup later in the week)

1-2 cans black eyed peas, drained and rinsed

1 large can diced tomatoes

Olive oil

Directions:

Pre-heat your oven to 350.  Rinse, peel and chop your veggies.  Heat a heavy, oven proof pot on the stove and add a few tablespoons of olive oil.  I think I threw in a little bit of butter as well.  Do this over medium-high heat and when the oil/butter is hot, add your onion, carrots and garlic. Let them soften but be careful not to let the garlic burn since burned garlic both smells bad and tastes bitter (right K?!).

Meanwhile, in a frying pan on the stove over medium-high heat, brown your sausages.

Sausages never look pretty to me. So phallic.

Once the veggies have softened, add the tomatoes and stir.  Let this stay on the heat while you finish cooking your sausages.

Once your sausages have cooked and cooled a bit, slice them into discs.  It’s ok if they haven’t cooked all the way through since they’re going in the sauce to cook longer anyway.

Add the sausage to the pot with the veggies and put into the oven, covered.  Let it cook for about 15-20 minutes.

Add the drained and rinsed beans.

Put this back in the oven and let it cook for as long as you want- I think mine was in for about 40 minutes.  Check it from time to time to ensure that it’s not burning and that the liquid hasn’t all evaporated.  The sauce will thicken up as the liquid from the veggies evaporates.  I let mine cook with the lid off.

I served mine with mini corn muffins crumbled on top.  It was delicious- and lucky!

So, the intriguing dessert.  I’ve seen these in Whole Foods the last few times I’ve been in there.  I will say that I almost never buy baked goods because that’s something I can easily make at home.  Plus, then I know what’s in them- that whole keeping things shelf-stable makes me nervous.  But I just kept seeing these and wondering.

French Toast Cupcakes (yes, that's bacon on top)

 

So, I had one.

Really, bacon. Real bacon. How is it not rancid or rotten? I have no idea.

 

I have read about the bacon-as-sweet craze and I get it.  I really do- salty and sweet.  How can it be wrong?

The verdict?  It was, um, interesting. The cupcake tasted like french toast, kind of.  It was more of a spice cake with cinnamon.  The frosting was sort of maple-y but not very much so.  The bacon?  Kind of went with it.  It was salty and contrasted nicely with the extreme sweetness of the frosting.  Overall, though, I’m pretty sure I could pass these up if I see them again.  And I have three more left.  First come, first served, people….c’mon by!

 

 

Leave a Reply

