Audience Participation

Ok, here are the bullet points:

1.  No baby yet.  I am due today.  My daughter was born on her due date (Only 4-5% of babies come on the actual due date) and I don’t think we’ll get that lucky again.  I am scheduled to be induced on Tuesday morning if the boy hasn’t arrived before then.

2.  As a result, I am exhausted.  I have two more testing reports to write for work and then I’m done.  I may or may not go into work tomorrow for a few hours just to wrap up- it will depend on how I feel (and if the baby comes tonight).

3.  Also, as a result, I haven’t meal planned at all for this week.  As in ordered spicy Chinese food last night (and took a long walk at the zoo today) and had carrots, celery and dip tonight.  Since I haven’t planned, I have made THREE trips to two different grocery stores in as many days.  So we have staples- milk, eggs, cheese, cereal, etc.- but no real ingredients for meals.  It means that I sort of wandered aimlessly through the grocery stores, picking up and putting down various items.  I had forgotten how much prepared or just-add-water food there is out there (and was reminded of the long-running joke in my house growing up, based on an old Sally Forth comic strip, “Do you want something from a bag or from a box?  From the freezer or the fridge?”).

4.  The best part of my wanderings is that I found this:

Yes, you’re reading it right.  Chocolate goat cheese.  I was curious enough to spend $8 on it.  I tasted it and it’s smooth, creamy, tangy and sweet, all at the same time.

My problem?  I have no idea what to do with it.  A google search yielded a few ideas- goat cheese canapes, truffles and frosting- but these do no appeal.  So this is where you all come in.

What would you do with it?  Let me know in the comments and maybe I’ll try it.

7 thoughts on “Audience Participation

  1. I can hardly wait to hear about your little guy’s safe arrival! Please post as soon as you can – but also take care of yourself and give yourself as much time as possible to sleep! I wish you and your hubs and daughter the very best! I wish you all enough. . .

  2. Eating it straight up is ok but I feel something more creative could be done. Toast is intriguing… should it go on something rich like brioche or something more sturdy/hardy like wheat?

    Thanks for the good baby wishes!

Leave a Reply

