Do Not Doubt Grandma, Part II

I posted here about my doubts about Grandma’s recipes in her recipe box.  I learned my lesson with those cheese puffs and I no longer doubt Grandma.  However, when I looked at this recipe for dream bars, I could feel doubt coming over me.  As I followed Grandma’s directions, I felt even more doubt.  The recipe didn’t seem right as I was making it and I didn’t think it would be anything good when it came out of the oven.

As usual, I was wrong.  Do not doubt Grandma.  She knows of what she speaks.  Really.

Grandma’s Dream Bars

Ingredients

For Base:

1 cup flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

For Filling:

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

6 oz of chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped nuts

Directions:

Mix first three ingredients until crumbly,  I started with a pastry blender but quickly decided my fingers would work better.

It will be like making a strudel topping- mix until it’s sort of sandy-looking  and clumps together.

Press it into a greased (I used Pam) pan.  Grandma says to use a 13×9- I used an 8×8, rebel that I am.

Bake it in the oven at 325 degrees for about 15 minutes or until it is golden and sort of holds together.

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, mix the eggs, vanilla and sugar.

Add the flour, baking powder and salt.  Mix well.  Add the nuts and chocolate chips.  I used chocolate and peanut butter chips but did not use nuts.  I also- full disclosure- eyeballed the measurements.  Pour the mixture into the baked base.

Bake at 325 for about 30-40 minutes.

The top will get sort of brownie-like while the inside will be gooey and sort of pecan pie consistency.

Make sure to, as grandma notes, “cut while still warm.”

Also, be sure to eat these once they’re cooled as fresh out of the oven they have the temperature of molten lava.

Here they are in my red cookie jar. I love my red cookie jar.

One thought on “Do Not Doubt Grandma, Part II

Leave a Reply

