Pass – (is) -Over

Another Seder has come and gone.  As you know, if you read here, Passover is one of my favorite meals to make and one of my favorite holidays to host.  In years past this has been due to the traditions I’ve been able to pass on and the people who’d been around our table.  This year, it was no less true.  We had a smaller number this year and while those who are usually in attendance were missed, it was also nice to be a bit more intimate- I can’t remember the last time we all fit in the dining room.  We also had more children this year which made my heart full in a way it hasn’t been before.

That's Miss M down at the end and Miss C over on the left. They were two of five children in attendance.

Not to turn this into a mushy sermon on how having children has changed my life (it has) but it made a difference to look around the table and see the next generation seated there.  My cousin, my best friend from elementary school and my best friends from high school were all there with their children.  I still think it’s surreal that we all have kids because it seems like just a few hours ago we were late for Latin class.  This year we even had the next generation in pets, brought by none other than Lady Gouda’s sister, who is a dear friend of ours.

Not only did she bring a cute dog, she also brought an adorable and perfect gift for my little sous chef:

But, the food.  Let me tell you about the food.

I tend to serve big dinners family style.  Composed plates are all well and good in restaurants but when you’re at home and serving a large group of people, make them work for it.  Pass those platters, pass those plates, make people get up and move around.  Keeps things exciting and, frankly, much easier for the cook.

Big platter of balsamic roasted veggies. Yum.

So, our menu was hard boiled eggs, matzo ball soup, charoset, mashed potatoes, roasted chicken, brisket, roasted balsamic vegetables, apple matzo kugel, roasted asparagus, chocolate caramel matzo and fudgy passover brownies.  Also some ice cream.  Whew.  Oh, and wine.  Lots of wine.  In the words of Lady Gouda’s Sister, “I didn’t know you got drunk at passover.”  (For those of you not in the know, you are supposed to drink at least four cups of wine during the pre-dinner service.)

Prepping took two days.  I actually cooked the brisket for a day and a half.  It was good.  So good.  So good that I’m angry I didn’t buy a bigger brisket as it was all gone in about five minutes.  No exaggeration.

Brisket top right. It was SO. GOOD.

The new recipes I tried, balsamic roasted veggies and apple-matzo kugel were delicious.  The vegetables were simple but flavorful.  It was a simple recipe- just chop the vegetables, mix up the dressing, combine and roast.  Easy and simple.

The vegetables waiting to be washed and chopped.

The apple mazto kugel was sweet and not dry at all.

Apples, chopped and ready for a mix with brown sugar and OJ.

It was filled with apples, raisins and apricots- which I thought I wouldn’t like as I’m not a huge fan of dried fruit in my food but, somehow it all worked well together.

Kugel on the left. Yum.

Everyone loved the food and there was lots of eating, laughing and general merriment.

A plate full of food (and therefore, love, right?)

So.  Another Seder ended, another spring beginning.  As we say at the end of the seder:  next year in Jerusalem.

Chag Pesach Semach!

 

One thought on “Pass – (is) -Over

  1. I loved it so much!!! Such a terrific group, and that FOOD!!!! I am sold, this is my favorite Jewish holiday too. (Says girl-named-after-xmas-flower.) Thank you for tolerating Pippa! And thank you for being the most chill, adorable, wonderful host!!!
    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

