Seriously, I’ve Told You, Do Not Doubt Grandma

As I’ve mentioned before, whenever I’ve doubted grandma’s recipes, she’s turned out to be right even when I’ve had doubts.  See here and here.

It happened again.  But before I get to that, a word or two about Grandma.

I recently asked my family to email me any food memories about our house and my grandparents.  There were a few consistent ones which I hope to post in the coming weeks.  One of the main ones was the abundance of food that was always on her table.  Another was the amount of love with which her food was seasoned.  Everyone agreed that, even if they couldn’t remember specific foods, they remembered how welcome she made everyone feel and how this made every meal delicious.

I will add that, apparently even from beyond the grave, she was always correct about her recipes.  I made her marinate for flank steak tonight (because the hippo was gracing my table and she loves to eat steak when she visits) and followed her cooking instructions.  I doubted her when I should not have- the steak didn’t seem done to me and yet, it was.  To perfection.

When will I learn?  Do not doubt grandma, she knows of what she speaks.  Always.

Marinade for Flank Steak

Ingredients

3 cloves of garlic, smashed

1/3 cup soy sauce

2 teaspoons oil

1 teaspoon ginger, grated

Directions

Combine all ingredients.

Pour over steak and let marinate for ten minutes (according to grandma.  I let mine marinate longer).

Put under the broiler for 3-4 minutes each side (for rare- if you prefer more well done, I’d say 4-5 minutes each side).

Let it rest for several minutes before slicing to let the juices redistribute.

When you do slice it, do it against the grain, on the bias and thinly.  It will be delicious.

We had ours with fresh peas and wok-fried potatoes.  Yum.

One thought on “Seriously, I’ve Told You, Do Not Doubt Grandma

Leave a Reply

