Something To Tide You Over

Hello all.  There’s a pun there in the title.  See if you can find it by the end of the post.

I have been MIA, I know.  There have been some, er, events in my life over the last few weeks (some good, some terrible) that have kept me from posting.  I’m working on a post now about one of them which I hope to have for you next week.  Right now, I want to give you a recipe that comes from the other coast.  As the result of one event, I spent some time in Seattle last week.  Our first night there, my cousin and her husband made us the most delicious salmon I have ever had.  Ever.  It’s the right season, we were in the right place and they prepared it just the right way.  Even my picky eater daughter ate it.

Plus, it counts as a family recipe since it comes from my wonderful cousin and her wonderful husband.  They’re a nice blend of cultures- she’s Irish-Jewish and he’s Chinese-American.  Talk about yummy food.

Ingredients

Salmon, the best you can find!

1-2 cloves of garlic, minced

2-3 tablespoons of maple syrup or brown sugar

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Special Equipment:  cedar plank (but if you don’t have one, don’t worry)

Directions

If you have a cedar plank, use it.  Otherwise, layer some tin foil and crimp the edges to that there’s a lip.  Place it on a sheet pan and then place the fish on it.  Pour the oil over the fish and sort of smear it around with your fingers. Do the same with the syrup.  Sprinkle the garlic over and then salt and pepper.

Heat your grill on high.  I suppose you could do this in the oven as well.  Once it’s good and hot, place the fish on the foil on the grill.  Turn your heat down to medium or so.  Grill for about ten minutes.  Try not to scarf it all down at once.

What’s that?  What should you serve with it?  Oh, ok.

I was in a seafood mood so I served mine with shrimp.  The best, easiest way to make shrimp is from Ina Garten.  I used frozen shrimp (kind of a crime given how close to the ocean I am but so be it) which I defrosted by running them under cool water.

Once they were defrosted, I peeled off the shells and then put them on a sheet pan.  I tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper just to coat them.  Then I roasted them for 5-6 minutes at 400 degrees.

I’m sorry, say that again?  Oh, you want a vegetable, too?  Fine.  Be that way.  I sautéed some minced garlic in olive oil and then added some baby spinach I had washed and dried.  Or, rather, my kitchen sous chef had dried.


In the end, this was my dinner and it was so. good.  The salmon was sweet and savory.  The shrimp were seasoned just right so that their sweetness came through and the spinach was the right counterpoint to all the rich, fishy flavor.  In fact, I kind of want this very meal again. Right now.

This little guy wanted some too but he can’t have any yet.  He’s just starting cereal, though, and quite enjoys it.

So, did you catch the pun?  Something to tide you over???  Ocean, seafood, tides….

I know, I know.  Sorry.

Leave a Reply

