Weekend Breakfast

Oh summer, where did you go?  This week I’m back to work full-time.  The kids don’t return until the 4th but my kids are back at day-care full time, my husband is back to school and life is back to overly full, overly scheduled and overly stressful.

Which means we’re also back to no time to eat, lots of eating on the go and packing snacks.  No leisurely breakfasts, no long lunches, no easygoing dinners.  So this past Sunday, I made sure to revel in the time we had.  I made pancakes.  The toddler helped.  They were delicious.

Sunday Pancakes

I make mine from the Pancakes From Morning to Midnight by Dorie Greenspan.  It was left in my house more than 10 years ago by one of my high school friends who was living with us at the time.  She visits often and is always pleased to see the things she left behind when she moved- says it makes her feel like it’s still home.

Ingredients

1 cup flour

2 Tablespoons sugar (I always use 3)

1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

1 large egg

3 Tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

Mix the flour, sugar, salt baking soda and baking powder in a bowl with a whisk.

As the toddler likes to say, “Mix gently, Mama!”

In another bowl ( or measuring cup), whisk the melted butter, egg and buttermilk.  If you don’t have buttermilk, you can make your own- put 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar into a one cup measure.  Fill the rest with milk (preferably whole) and stir.  Let it sit for about five minutes and then you’ll have homemade buttermilk.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk.  The batter will stay lumpy and get sort of spongy.  Don’t overmix.

About ten million years ago I bought my husband an electric griddle because he wanted to be able to make omelettes, pancakes and french toast (i.e. breakfast).  I use it more often than he does but, to be fair, when he does use it, it’s pretty damn good.  Anyway, it’s my prefered method for cooking pancakes.  I set it to about 350 and then turn it down to 300 when I’m ready to cook.  Pour the batter into your pan or griddle.  I make smaller pancakes so it takes a few tablespoons for each.

Let them cook until bubbles appear on the surface.

Okay, not a great photo but just to give you a sense.  There will be lots of bubbles like that.  Flip them when they’re bubbly.

Serve them immediately.  If you must hold them, place them on a wire rack in the oven set at 200.  But they’re really better right away.

Thick, chewy, spongy, buttery and sweet.  Excellent with syrup or without.  If you have any leftover (we only do if I double the recipe), freeze them and then you can have pancakes on the go- they heat up nicely in the microwave and then the toaster.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Breakfast

  1. This morning I started longing for Passover. I decided I will arrive early and just bring more wine. This post is adorable.

Leave a Reply

