My Little Pumpkin

Before I had children I would wonder all the things that all parents wonder:  “Will they be happy?  Will I be a good mother?  Will I ever sleep again?” I also worried about all the things most parents worry about:  “How expensive will it be?  How will I potty-train?  Will I ever sleep again?”  Because of my profession, however, I also worried about a lot of things that not a lot of people tend to worry about:  “Will my kids end up with anxiety/depression?  Will they be on the autsim spectrum?  Will OCD be a problem?”

I still worry, now that I have two kiddos, but it’s a bit more tempered.  Which doesn’t mean that I don’t still have my worries.  Now that it’s fall, there are pumpkins everywhere and I have to tell you, it worries me a little, tiny bit.  My little pumpkin at home? Well, she’s obsessed with pumpkins everywhere.  OB-SESSED.  Every time she sees a pumpkin, she’s all, “PUN-KIN!  PUN-KIN!  THREE PUN-KINS!!!”  It’s as though she’s won the lottery and she’s being paid in pumpkins.  They’re even indulging this obsession at daycare:

FOUR pun-kins!

So I figure, if I can’t beat her, I’ll join her.  I made some delicious pun-kin cookies with a cream cheese icing.  They weren’t too sweet and were just the right mix of spicy and flavorful.  Plus, the texture was halfway between a cake and a cookie.  Can’t go wrong.  And, of course, G. was so thrilled that she told the hippo all about her cookies via a phone call.

Pun-kin Obsession Cookies

(via Martha Stewart)

Ingredients

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin puree

Directions

Preheat oven to 375.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and pumpkin pie spice.

This is her favorite part of any cooking activity.

In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar.

Add the egg and mix well.  Then add the pumpkin and the flour, alternating between the two.  Do this in two to three stages.

Mix well and enjoy the pretty orange color.

Drop by tablespoonfulls on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or silpat.  Leave some space between them as they will spread a bit. Bake for 15-20 minutes, rotate sheets halfway through.  Let them cool on a rack.

Steal a bite of one before you frost them.  So yummy.

Make sure to keep all little ones entertained.

While the cookies are cooling, make the icing.  I mixed up some cream cheese with extra pumpkin pie spice, some softened butter and some confectioner’s sugar.  No measurements, sorry.

Ice the cookies once they’re cool.

Do your best not to eat them all in one sitting.  Save some for your little pumpkin.

4 thoughts on “My Little Pumpkin

  1. I’m pretty sure she gets her pumpkin obsession from me despite my never having spent time with her in the fall. Pumpkins are the best things ever, Also, no idea who the small person eating toys is, None. Relatedly, you seem to have misplaced your baby, You might want to look into that.

Leave a Reply

