Emergency Pizza

There are a few staples I always have in the house, many of which are there because they’re things my Grandmother always had- frozen cookies and cakes in case someone shows up for tea unexpectedly, frozen fish for quick dinners, spices, dried beans and pasta.  In fact, I’m always thrown off when I cook in other people’s kitchens and they aren’t similarly stocked.  I also keep a few things on hand based on my own experience- yeast, frozen veggies and, since the arrival of my daughter, frozen (homemade) pancakes and frozen (organic) chicken nuggets.  Plus, boxed (organic) mac and cheese.

So imagine my dismay when I wanted BBQ chicken pizza and found that I had no yeast.  And no frozen pizza dough!  I was so annoyed with myself because “running to the store for a minute” is infinitely more complicated when you’re the only one home with two kids under the age of three.  After debating for a moment, I decided that there must be a way to make pizza dough, however inferior, without yeast.  Off to the internet I went and I was rewarded with a number of different recipes.

I went with this one, which yielded a pizza crust that was more biscuit-y than bread-y.  As I bit into it, I realized that it mimicked the pizza of my elementary school cafeteria.  I didn’t even recall eating that pizza until that moment!  It wasn’t bad and while I prefer yeast-based crust, this will certainly do in a pinch.

Emergency BBQ Chicken Pizza

For the crust:

2/12 c. flour

2 3/4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tbsp. oil
3/4 to 1 c. water

For the toppings:

1/2 c.-1 cup cooked chicken, shredded

1 onion, sliced thinly

1-2 Tb oil, for cooking the onion

1-2 cups BBQ sauce of your choice

1-2 cups shredded cheese (cheddar works well)

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients for the crust in a bowl.  Before you add the liquid, whisk all the dry ingredients together.

IMG_4316

I also added a little bit of garlic powder, onion powder and oregano, just for a bit of flavor.  Add the liquid and stir.  It will make a big ball.

IMG_4317

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Prepare your baking sheet- I used a bit of cornmeal on the bottom of mine in order to help crisp up the crust.  Sort of squish and pat it down so that it’s mostly uniform in shape and thickness.  Bake for about 15 minutes.  IMG_4321

At this point, you can treat it like regular pizza.  Spread on your tomato sauce and cheese.  I, however, wanted something different.  So, I cooked my onion in oil over low heat for about 15 minutes, until it started to caramelized.  Then I tossed my shredded chicken in bbq sauce.  I spread some bbq sauce on my (uncooked) crust along with the cheese.

IMG_4325

I tossed my chicken with the BBQ sauce and put it on top of the cheese.  I added the onions as well.

IMG_4326

It baked in the oven for about ten minutes, until everything was hot and the cheese was melty.

IMG_4329

Again, the crust was good.  Still kind of bready without the yeast.  And with toppings as yummy as chicken, cheese and bbq sauce, the crust really just serves as the plate for them.

IMG_4332

Leave a Reply

