I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream For Ice Cream

Yesterday was one of those sunny, spring-almost-summer days where the sky is blue, the air is clear and you just want to be outside, in the sun, eating ice cream and hanging out with someone you love.  On our way home, my daughter asked for ice cream and the playground.  We decided we needed portable ice cream and the idea of making cones was born.

I searched around the internet a bit and ended up using this post as my guide.  I used Food Network’s Gale Gand’s recipe but I halved it since there was no way I needed that many cones.  I also burned my fingers a bit and there were a number of cones that went directly into the disposal since it took a few tries to get both the timing/heat of the Panini press/method of rolling just right.

My advice to you is this:  be patient.  Also, be prepared to burn your fingers a little bit.  It’s worth it.

photo 5Ice Cream Cones

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

3/4 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup powdered sugar

3/4 cups flour

1/2 Tablespoon cornstarch

Directions

In a small bowl whisk together the sugar, flour and cornstarch.  Set it aside.

photo 1

In a medium bowl, with a whisk or a hand mixer, beat the cream and vanilla, just until it thickens and becomes sort of mousse-like– don’t whip it into whipped cream.

photo 2

Add the dry ingredients to the cream and stir to combine. You’ll end up with something between pancake and cookie batter.   Let it rest in the fridge for 30 minutes.

photo 1

Enlist help with the clean-up.

photo 3

Meanwhile, make a little cone template. I used a file folder on which I had traced the outline of a roll of packing tape and cut it out.  I taped it together into a little cone shape.

Heat up your Panini maker.  I found that the best setting for mine was actually the highest.  Drop about a tablespoon of batter onto the Panini maker and cook for roughly one to two minutes.  The little glob will turn into a sort of oval-ish shape.

Place your mold in the middle of your dough.  Wrap the dough around and make sure that it overlaps so that you don’t end up with a little hole in the bottom of your cone.

photo 4You have to work quickly because the cone will be very hot.  As it cools it will stick itself together and that will happen within 30 seconds.

photo 5Let it sit on the mold for a minute or two while it cools.

photo 2Even with the smaller recipe, I ended up with a number of small cones.  They were delicious.

photo 4And we got our portable ice cream for the playground.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

