Changing The Conversation

There’s been a lot of buzz in my social media world lately (Facebook, Twitter, Blogs I follow) about how we change the conversation in terms of weight, body image and beauty for women.  It’s something I’m interested in personally and professionally, for both me and my daughter.  I have a long history of a love-hate relationship to my body which shifts depending on how much I weigh, how much I’m working out and- to be honest- how much my partner at the time finds me attractive.

This is not what I want for my daughter.  Or my son, for that matter.

So I work hard to encourage healthy eating habits, lots of physical activity that’s fun and modeling positive body talk.  We call ourselves strong and healthy and avoid adjectives like “pretty” and “small”.  I encourage balanced eating, reminding my two that cookies are a sometimes food (to quote Cookie Monster) and trying not to make anything forbidden.  I try to model eating vegetables and whole grains and not so much sugar.  But I feel that dessert is important.  So we eat it.  Sometimes it’s ice cream, sometimes it’s strawberries.  Recently, we’ve been eating these.

photo 4The secret of these?  Only 2/3 of a cup of sugar and….  black beans.  Really.  No lie.  And they’re tasty.  Fudgy, moist, a little bit dense.  Very good.

So while I may not succeed in changing my body quickly or in helping my kids to avoid all body insecurity, at least I can feel ok about giving them these brownies as dessert.  In moderation.

Black Bean Brownies aka Chocolate Bean Brownies

(From Mmm…is for Mommy)

Ingredients:

1 (19oz) can of black beans

3 eggs

3 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2/3 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon instant espresso, instant coffee or ground coffee

1/4 cup chocolate chips

Optional:  M&M’s, colored sprinkles (for topping)

Directions:

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Next, open your beans, drain them and give them a good rinse.

photo 1Throw them into the blender with all the other ingredients.  The sugar, for one.

photo 2The eggs, the cocoa powder…. all of it.

photo 3Doesn’t look very pretty from that angle, right?

photo 4That’s a bit better.

Get ready to turn on the blender– don’t forget to put on the top tightly.  Rookie mistake to leave it loose.

photo 5Be careful, as the blender is pretty noisy.

photo 2Let the ingredients blend together.

photo 4Turn it off and check to see if it’s all blended.

photo 5If it’s not, turn it back on and let it go again.

photo 1Still pretty loud, though.

photo 3Pour the batter into a greased (I use cooking spray) 8×8 pan.

photo 1Top with M&M’s, Chocolate Chips, Sprinkles…  whatever strikes your fancy that day.

photo 3Bake for 30-32 minutes.

photo 3We went with all three toppings- chips, M&M’s and sprinkles.  Lots of sprinkles.  It’s a good little hand addition to the “helping”.

photo 2Let them cool before slicing.  I generally get between 12-16 brownies, depending on how I cut them.  They’re good the first and second day but after that, they decline slightly.  Still good, just not quite as much.

If you don’t tell anyone about the beans, they will likely not guess.  At least no one who’s tried them around here has guessed.

1 19oz (540ml) can black beans, well rinsed and drained 3 large eggs 3 tbsp vegetable or canola oil 1/4 cup cocoa powder 2/3 cup white sugar 1 tsp baking powder 1/4 tsp salt 1 tsp pure vanilla extract 1 tsp instant espresso 1/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips – See more at: http://www.mmmisformommy.com/2011/05/legendary-black-bean-brownie.html#sthash.caddTyeH.dpuf
1 19oz (540ml) can black beans, well rinsed and drained 3 large eggs 3 tbsp vegetable or canola oil 1/4 cup cocoa powder 2/3 cup white sugar 1 tsp baking powder 1/4 tsp salt 1 tsp pure vanilla extract 1 tsp instant espresso 1/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips – See more at: http://www.mmmisformommy.com/2011/05/legendary-black-bean-brownie.html#sthash.caddTyeH.dpu
2 thoughts on “Changing The Conversation

  1. They were yummy. There’s a recipe floating around the book of Face that are for blond chocolate chip cookie things, that are gluten free because the “dough” is chick peas. May have to try them.

Leave a Reply

