Homemade Comfort

Rough times here, long story, nothing that impacts me personally but impacting my work life and, as a result, I’ve been working looooong hours.  So last Saturday, in a few hours of at home time, I decided to make chicken tacos which always feel like a comfort food to me.

I took it a step further and made my own tortillas.  I can not recommend this more.  They were easy, didn’t take much time and were so delicious.  Soft, flaky, thick- just the kind of comfort carb I crave when things are hard.  So, when times are tough, pull together the simple ingredients and make yourself some tortillas to serve with soup, chicken or even solo.  Yum.

Flour Tortillas

Ingredients

2 cups white flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup water

3 tablespoons vegetable or olive oil

Directions

Mix the flour and salt in a bowl.

photo 1Combine the water and oil in a measuring cup.  Don’t bother trying to mix it- we all know oil and water don’t mix…

photo 2Pour the liquid into the flour and stir.  You’ll have a kind of shaggy dough.

photo 3Once it’s mostly combined, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead it until it’s smooth- maybe 12 times or so- adding flour or water as needed to make a soft, smooth dough.

photo 4Let it rest for about ten minutes.  Then shape it into a sort of log shape.

photo 1Divide it into eight pieces.  I did this by cutting it in half and then cutting each half in half.  Then I divided those in half… you get the idea.

photo 2photo 3Flatten and using a rolling pin, roll each piece into about 7- 8 inch circles.  I suck at this.

photo 4I can’t ever make true circles and if I were going to make tortillas on a regular basis I might think about investing in a tortilla press.  For now I’ll just go with the imperfect shape.

Heat a frying pan over medium high heat.  Spray with nonstick cooking spray or lightly oil it.  Once the pan is hot, throw in one tortilla.

photo 5Cook for 1-2 minutes or until the underside starts to brown and blister.  Then flip and cook another minute.

photo 2Keep them warm in a low oven until you are ready to serve them.  Fill with cheese, beans, meat, veggies, whatever.  Or eat plain. They are really good. Y’know, if you like carbs.

photo 5

One thought on “Homemade Comfort

Leave a Reply

