Quick Treat

I hate milk.  I have, as long as I can remember, always hated milk.  I did not grow up in a family that required me to drink it, opting instead for juice or water.  As an adult, I drink almost nothing but water (and the occasional adult beverage) and tea.  My husband is the total opposite- he drinks almost exclusively milk.  Which, again, I find revolting.

My kids like milk and while my husband is sternly and firmly in the camp of “you drink milk with every meal”, I am of the “you have milk sometimes” variety.  The kids seem to be with me- they drink milk a few times a day but are happy with water the rest of the time.

Of course, if you introduce chocolate into the equation, everything changes.  Essentially, I will eat or drink almost anything if it includes chocolate.  I have yet to stomach chocolate covered bugs and I’m pretty sure that I wouldn’t be able to choke down chocolate cilantro but other than that, I’m game.  The same is true for my kids and, of course, the husband.

As a result, I have found this chocolate syrup recipe from Alton Brown at Food Network.  It’s super easy to whip up and is tasty in milk or on ice cream.  It keeps for some time, although, we usually run through it in about a week at the most, so I can’t really speak for longevity.

Alton Brown’s Cocoa Syrup

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups water

3 cups white sugar

1 1/2 cups cocoa (Alton says Dutch processed but I use the regular organic stuff and it’s fine)

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

Directions

Combine the water and sugar in a medium saucepan.

photo 1Bring to a boil over medium heat.

photo 2Add the cocoa, corn syrup, salt and vanilla.

photo 3Whisk to combine.  Mine got very excited very quickly so I had to take it off the heat, lest it overflow.

photo 4Let it cook for a few minutes, to let it reduce and thicken slightly.

photo 1 copyStrain it through a mesh strainer.

photo 2 copyPour it into a serving container and let it cool.  Add to milk, ice cream, coffee…whatever.

I have some in a pouring bottle, some in a large milk bottle (to which I will add milk and then we have it ready to go) and the rest in a basic storage container.  I assure you, it will all be gone within the week.

photo 3 copy

Leave a Reply

