Holiday Food Part II

So, those sugared cranberries?  They were delightful.  Tart and sweet, crisp and crunchy.  Super easy to make.  Again, from the book Wintersweet.  Once again, not going to post the recipe- go buy the book!  Support local chefs!

Sugared Cranberries

Start with fresh, not frozen, cranberries.  Pick through them and take out any that are mushy or spoiled.  The recipe called for a cup but I think you could probably use more.  My HipstaPrint 995743201_5Make your syrup.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_35And then I forgot to take photos.  Basically, you submerge your cranberries in the cooled syrup overnight.  Then you take them out and roll them in sugar.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_3You let them dry at room temperature and roll them again a few times.  They make a great gift.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_31They’re so pretty….

My HipstaPrint 995743201_21and festive….

My HipstaPrint 995743201_29They sort of scream Christmas! at me.

Speaking of which, my daughter and her daddy picked the tree this year.  She was very proud of herself.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_26More food?  Ok. This was our Christmas morning breakfast, made up of various leftovers from the night before.  My husband was psyched that I cooked the ham and then scrambled the eggs in the same pan as the ham.  It made for ham-flavored eggs, which made him very, very happy.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_33(That’s a sweet potato, corn and ham hash on the left. It was dinner a few nights prior.  So good with a poached egg on top.)

Another random favorite, I adore these little purple potatoes.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_2I think the color is so deep and vibrant and purple is my favorite!!

Finally, to spread a bit of holiday cheer, we made our neighbor a cake plate and some goodies for it.  I picked up the plate at a discount store and the kids had fun decorating it with Sharpies.

20131229-115937.jpgWe then made yummy Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Pioneer Woman).

20131229-115926.jpgWe wrapped those up, added a tiny jar of mustard, some sliced homemade ham and a loaf of homemade challah.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_6We made a nice little package that was quite festive, if I do say so myself.

My HipstaPrint 995743201_25It was well received by our neighbor.

Happy, happy last days of 2013 to you.  I hope that the coming year brings you more joy, laughter and love and less sadness, anger and pain than the last.  See you in January!

Leave a Reply

