New Cookbook!

My dad was visiting in April and he came baring gifts for all!  Books for the kids and a new cookbook for me, nicely inscribed by his wife.

My HipstaPrint 945698505_3I’m super excited to try all the recipes in it and have enjoyed reading it as many of the stories and recipes are based in Israeli culture and geography, bringing me back to when I lived there.

While Dad was here, I made the kettle corn because I have a deep, unwavering passion for kettle corn and am always searching for the perfect technique.

My HipstaPrint 945698505I liked the one from this book but clearly did not execute it well as I ended up with several scorched kernels.  Nonetheless, it was delicious and paired well with the strawberries we had for dessert.

Kettle Corn (Einat Admony’s recipe.  Check out her NYC restaurants here)

Ingredients

2 tablespoons canola oil

1/4 cup popcorn kernels

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 cup of sugar

Kosher salt

Directions

Heat the oil in a large saucepan, over medium-high heat.  Place one kernel into the oil and cover with an oil spatter guard.  You can use a lid but the popcorn won’t be as crispy.  I don’t have a spatter guard that fits the pan I used, which was a bit of an issue.

My HipstaPrint 945698505_6Once the kernel pops, the oil is hot enough for the popcorn. Add all the kernels, along with the butter and sugar.

My HipstaPrint 945698505_4Give the pan a quick shake and cover.  The popping should begin within 30 seconds.  Once it does, gently move the pan back and forth over the heat and listen to the popping.  When it slows to about 2 seconds between pops, remove the pan from the heat and put the popcorn into a large bowl.  Sprinkle with the salt (to taste).

My HipstaPrint 945698505_1We served ours for dessert, in cute paper bags with names on them.

My HipstaPrint 945698505_7Strawberries were a good accompaniment.

My HipstaPrint 945698505_2It was gone in seconds.

My HipstaPrint 945698505_5

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Cookbook!

    • Of course you did! Let’s plan, for sure, and maybe it’ll happen in your beautiful kitchen this summer!

Leave a Reply

