Assembly Line Lunch

There’s a new trend happening in the food world, have you seen it?  It’s these salads, in mason jars (mason jars.  Another trend.  Everything in mason jars.).  I’m not a huge fan of mason jars (I mean, it’s a jar.  Really, how excited can I get?) but I do like salad.  And the idea is sound- pack it the correct way and you have the perfect salad on a plate.

So I bought my own containers and tried it.  You know what?  It’s a brilliant idea.  I can make all my salads on Sunday and have my lunch for the week all set.  It’s made a big difference in my weekly food prep.  Plus, it’s flexible enough that you can add whatever you like.  Some weeks I use artichoke hearts, other weeks I’ll use hearts of palm.  Chickpeas, quinoa, whatever you have around will work.

Now, if I could just find the time at work to actually EAT my lunch, I’d be all set.

Salad in a jar or box or whatever container you have handy

Ingredients

dressing (I make my own balsamic)

lettuce/spinach/greens (you could even use kale if you wanted to be super trendy)

other salad veggies:  cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, broccoli, etc.  The sky’s the limit!

beans, quinoa or other grains that would make you happy.

Directions:

Wash and peel and cut and otherwise prep your veggies.  I always make my kiddos do the salad spinner which dries the lettuce.  Gives them a good little arm workout.

IMG_8936 IMG_8933

Set up your assembly line.

My HipstaPrint 947369673_3I start with containers.  Aren’t they cute?  Can you tell which one wasn’t part of the set?

Then, lay out your veggies in the right order.

My HipstaPrint 947369673_6Dressing, beans/grains/anything that won’t get soggy in the salad dressing but that will instead soak up the dressing and be sort of marinated, veggies (tomatoes, cucumbers, etc) and then lettuce/greens.  Then, get to prepping.  Dressing first, in the bottom of the containers.

My HipstaPrint 947369673Then add the won’t-get-soggy-veggies.

My HipstaPrint 947369673_4Put the rest of the veggies on top of that.

My HipstaPrint 947369673_1Finally, add the lettuce and other greens.

My HipstaPrint 947369673_5If you did it in the assembly line way, you’ll have four or five or however many salads ready to go.

My HipstaPrint 947369673_8Pop the covers on and move them to the fridge.  Take them out as needed.  When you’re ready to eat, remove the cover and place a plate on top.

photo 1

Flip it over so the plate is on the bottom

photo 2

and watch the magic happen.

photo 3

Lettuce/greens on the bottom, topped with veggies and dressing.  Perfect!

photo 4

 

 

Leave a Reply

