“Platter” Dinner

The days are getting longer around here, as we approach the long-awaited summer and summer vacation.  This means that I want to spend less time in the kitchen and more time outside with the kids.  Each night after supper we take a walk to “see the hippos.”  A neighbor has two ceramic hippos in his front yard, as part of his garden/landscaping and the kids love them.

Which means I have to be quick about supper.  My new favorite trick comes to me via the awesome blog/website Body Image Movement. Taryn is inspiring and came up with this idea of a platter dinner.  Which is perfect at my house.  Finger food?  Check.  Fun to eat?  Check.  Able to be healthy and new?  Check.  The kids love it and request it every night now.  I’m trying to pace it so that the novelty doesn’t wear off too soon.

IMG_8918This was my first attempt.  Yes, it’s a big pile of mac and cheese in the middle– I was using up what I had AND I knew it would draw them into the concept.  Lots of frozen, semi-processed food there but again, it was a first try.  Since I’m eating so much less meat now, I often struggle to get the protein into the kids’ diet so we made do with organic chicken nuggets/meatballs/etc.

IMG_8938This was a platter lunch.  Hallumi cheese, red pepper, blueberries, asparagus, cherry tomatoes and petitim (an Israeli couscous/pasta).  They scarfed down all of it, except the cheese (took a bite and declared it too salty) and the asparagus (too yucky).

It’s such a great idea.  I’m going to continue to work it all summer- or at least as long as it remains a request.

If you’re looking for a delicious, easy, no-cook salad, wander over to The Hungry Hippo and try the zucchini and asparagus one on her site.  I made it the other day and it was divine.  I served it over the petitim with some grilled hallumi cheese.  It was cool, crisp and tender with such a great balance of acid and… green.  It tasted like spring on a plate, in an entirely good way.

IMG_8940

 

One thought on ““Platter” Dinner

  1. You can never go wrong when you base a meal around mac ‘n cheese, in my opinion. We call it tapas in my house, which sounds much fancier than “clean-out-the-fridge-night,” the term used in my childhood. And now I really want some cheese.

Leave a Reply

