A Dangerous Idea

So while I have made it my summer goal to quit sugar, before I did that, I discovered an incredibly bad, dangerous, not good to know about recipe for homemade fluff.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_8And now I’m going to share it with you.  You’re welcome.  Or, sorry, depending on your own summer goals.

This made two pint containers, one of which I gave to my mum.  She ate it in two sittings and then called me, emailed me and texted me to say, “NEVER MAKE THIS AGAIN.”

My HipstaPrint 942372553_7I kept one pint and it lasted for about two weeks and then it got sort of grainy and not good.  Don’t tell my mum but I may have had to throw it out.  Apparently I can resist some sugar, if it is in the form of fluff.  But don’t let that stop you– it was super good.

I made it as part of a dessert I brought to a friend’s house over Memorial Day weekend.  She and her husband are doing a gluten-free thing to see if it helps them and so I made gluten-free peanut butter cookie sandwiches filled with fluff and chocolate.  They were damn good.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_9I will share with you here, with the warning that it really is good.  Super, easy to eat without realizing how much, filled with sugar, good.  Make at your own risk.

Marshmallow Fluff

(Fluffy White Icing-Marshmallow Frosting from Cake Duchess)

Ingredients

1 cup white granulated sugar (not confectioner’s)

4 egg whites, at room temperature

1/3 cup water

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar (Full disclosure:  I left this out)

*special equipment:  candy thermometer

Directions

In a medium saucepan combine the water, sugar and cream of tartar.  Bring it to a boil but don’t stir it!  Put the candy thermometer in and watch it closely while it boils- it should take about five minutes.   When it comes to 245 degrees Fahrenheit, take it off the heat.

While your sugar water is boiling and coming up to temperature, put the egg whites into the bowl of a stand mixer.  Beat them until they start to thicken and form soft peaks.

Set a timer for 7 minutes.  Now, very carefully and slowly, pour the sugar syrup into the egg white mixture, while the mixer is going. Let it whip for the whole seven minutes and in minute six, add the vanilla.  The fluff will be just that- fluffy and white and delicious.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_14I immediately had to make a fluffernutter.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_13 My HipstaPrint 942372553_3 My HipstaPrint 942372553_12If you’re interested in making the cookie sandwiches, which I found to be quite tasty, you can use this peanut butter cookie recipe.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_11 My HipstaPrint 942372553_2 My HipstaPrint 942372553_1I also made a basic chocolate ganache. Click here for a great tutorial on the different ways to make it.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_6

Then, I just put them together.

My HipstaPrint 942372553_10 My HipstaPrint 942372553_5 My HipstaPrint 942372553_9Again, you’re welcome.  Or not…

2 thoughts on “A Dangerous Idea

  1. There was an epic struggle over the remaining cookies, FYI. “That one is bigger than mine. I demand 1/3 of that, so that it is a fair split.” You are so right it is a dangerous recipe. We are still happily married. Mostly because he doesn’t know I ate a few for breakfast. #iwin

  2. Curse you/ adore you. I’m quitting sugar on 7/8. So I can squeeze one in. Can you then post about lettuce? And all the ways to… Ummm… Cut it?

    I love sugar. Addicted.

Leave a Reply

