A Belated Happy Jew-Year

Last week we Jews celebrated the beginning of 5775.  As always, Rosh Hashannah has lots of old favorites around the table- both food and people- and some new additions.  Once again, I cooked for several days and didn’t photograph much…  But I’ll share what I did.

I wish you all a happy, sweet, joyful year.  I’m looking forward to finding my own “roga”- serenity- this year, in whatever form that takes.

Now, on to the food!

IMG_0146Lots of old favorites- roasted chicken, honey glazed carrots, brisket, mashed potatoes, roasted sweet potatoes and a number of other veggies.  This year I also made a sweet and spicy chicken and an apple, walnut tabbouleh that was quite popular.  I’ll link to that recipe at the bottom.

IMG_0138 IMG_0137 IMG_0136 IMG_0135 IMG_0133 IMG_0132 IMG_0131 IMG_0130 IMG_0129IMG_0142We tried a new seating arrangement, putting the food in the dinning room and us eating in the living room. Worked out pretty well and we’re likely to use it again in the future.

IMG_0140 IMG_0141 IMG_0149 IMG_0143IMG_0139This is the tabbouleh, in process.  It was more of a salad- lots of sweet and tart with red onions, apples, pomegranate seeds and parsley.  It was quite good and can be found here.

I’m not cooking as much these days but I’ll be back, I’m sure.  Meanwhile, have a wonderful beginning to 5775!

 

 

Leave a Reply

