South African Sweet

When I lived in Israel, I met people from all over the world. Some of my favorites were from South Africa. Something about the accent in general and then the specific people I met. Through the wonders of Facebook, I have managed to stay in touch with many of them and I hope that someday I can actually go to South Africa to visit. I think it would be fun to travel around to see each of them and the country. Until then, I satisfy myself by looking at their photos on facebook- of the places, the people and the food. Oh, the food. Recently something called “milktart” came up on my newsfeed.

Do you know what this is? I did not. But I was intrigued. I did a little google research and found a number of recipes- some more complicated than others. I improvised with one fairly simple one and what I ended up with was a sweet dessert unlike anything else I’ve ever had. I made it on a Thursday evening. We cut into it on Friday and it was gone by Saturday night. You must make this. It is so good. Creamy, smooth, sweet and a touch savory/spicy from the cinnamon on top.

If this is what the food is like, I should book my ticket now.

South African Milktart
(as improvised based on a number of recipes by me, with apologies to the entire country of South Africa)
Ingredients
1 can of condensed milk (sweetened)
2 cans (use the empty can of condensed milk) milk (I used 2% but I’m sure whole would taste even better)
1 can (use the empty can of condensed milk) hot water
2 Tablespoons of butter
4 eggs
6 Tablespoons corn starch
pinch of salt
1 package of Biscoff cookies (you could probably use vanilla wafers or oreos or graham crackers too)
2-4 Tablespoons melted butter

Cinnamon for sprinkling over top

Directions

Put the cookies into a food processor or smush them up with a hammer.  Add two tablespoons of the melted butter and mix.  Put some into your hand and squeeze.  If it stays together, press it into a pie or cake pan.  If it doesn’t, add a bit more butter. Once all of the cookie crumb/butter mixture is pressed into the pan, put the pan into the fridge while you do the rest.
In a large saucepan over medium heat, combine the condensed milk, regular milk, water and butter. Add the eggs and cornstarch, whisk all together. I was a bit concerned about the eggs scrambling but they didn’t. Cook over medium to high heat until it thickens. Which it will do.  Be sure to whisk well and to scrape up the bottom and sides so that there are no lumps.
IMG_4464

Pour it into the prepared crust.  Sprinkle the cinnamon over the top and then put in the fridge to set.  We left ours overnight but I did sneak a small taste before then- it was still slightly warm and it was delicious that way.

My HipstaPrint 961092673 My HipstaPrint 961092673_1

Seriously, it was so good.  The kids loved it, the husband loved it, I loved it.  I have the ingredients to make another sitting in my pantry but…  I’m afraid if I do, I’ll hide it in my basement fridge and eat the whole thing myself.  Yum.

On an other note, I have about three posts started and in various stages of completion.  Work is slowing down now so perhaps I’ll eventually get to them….

Leave a Reply

