Summer Wrap Up

So, I just wandered over here to find a recipe for a birthday cake and realized that my last post was at the end of June.  An entire summer has gone by!  A summer in which I swam, cooked, ate, traveled and took photos.  Not a summer in which I posted here.

Oops.

Rather than offer you recipes now, I’m going to give you a gigantic photo dump of my summer.  I’ll notate what’s what and if there’s a recipe, I’ll direct you to it as best I can.  Coming up next?  Rosh Hashanah!  5777 baby!

My summer started with stuffed cookies.  I continued that experiment over the next few weeks.  Here’s an example:

fullsizerender_6 fullsizerender_7 fullsizerender_8

My summer also included a go-to breakfast:  avocado toast.  Which is easy.  Toast your favorite bread, mash up a ripe avocado, spread it on the toast (maybe top with tomato, if you’re feeling fancy) and finish with a sprinkle of salt.  So good.

fullsizerender_4 fullsizerender_5

Because in summer, those tomatoes…  so beautiful.

img_6418 fullsizerender_3

Traditional summer foods also happened:

img_4814 img_4859 img_5268

The husband and I managed a one night get-away together to NYC before we both went on longer, separate trips.  While in NYC we saw Eddie Izzard (a long-standing tradition for us) and ate at Red Farm which was delicious. The husband humored me since he’s not a huge fan of Asian food but I am.  When we were done, he enthusiastically stated that it was a fantastic meal.  I mean, come on!  It included a Pac-Man potato and dumpling ghosts!

img_5400 img_5399 img_5398 img_5396 img_5393 img_5391

The biggest trip this summer was to Israel.  Where we ate ALL the food.  I can’t even begin to describe the excellent food we ate in our family’s homes and in restaurants.  Everything is so fresh and flavorful, ranging from simple to complex.  It was just excellent.

img_5862 img_5860 img_5859 img_5821 img_5657 img_5656 img_5655 img_5654

Coming home from that food was a bit of a let-down.  So I made myself feel better by eating some fresh comfort food found on Smitten Kitchen: Broccoli Melts.  I must have made this six or seven times this summer.  Easy, quick and so very flavorful and comforting.

img_6293 img_6303

So there you go.  The last two months in food.  It’s about to be a new year (for us Jews anyway), so I’m off to cook for that.  Hopefully photos next week…

 

Leave a Reply

