So Sorry… or What I’ve Been Up To for, oh, seven months…

Hi There.

 

Remember me? I used to cook and blog about it here.  You know, before kids.  Before lots of work.  Before, well, this life I have found myself in for the last few years.  I love it, don’t get me wrong, but it doesn’t leave a bunch of time for blogging.

So, I’m still faithfully taking photos.  I just can’t quite seem to get around to posting them with accompanying text.  I’m going to post a bunch here and try to write up a few others with recipes…  Wish me luck!

I’ve traveled a bit over the last seven months.  I ate really well during a long weekend in Portsmouth, NH.

IMG_9568

My ever-present extremely dirty martini.

IMG_9575

An outstanding breakfast sandwich from Popover’s On the Square.

IMG_9579

Which was followed by delicious key lime tart since my traveling companion for that trip loves key lime pie. And what’s breakfast without dessert?

IMG_9578

We had so much fun wandering Portsmouth, eating and drinking and looking in shops.

We sampled egg creams from Fezziwigs:

IMG_9611

We also ate delicious Mexican food at Agave, and had delicate, sweet french cookies from La Maison Navarre, which allowed my traveling companion to impress me by speaking fluent French with the sweet bakery counter service woman.

IMG_9574

I also met a friend in Denmark  a few weeks ago and ate so much good food.  I can’t recommend enough that if you go to Copenhagen, that you should go to two places.  Copenhagen Street Food which is a big warehouse space filled with food trucks and stands from all over the world.  Cozy fires to sit by, big tables to share.  It was so good, we went twice and really tried to eat everything (impossible).  The other place not to miss is a bit out of the way but was across from the houseboat on which we were staying (yes, a houseboat.  SO COOL!), La Banchina.  It’s a tiny, maybe 10 table, place with the smallest kitchen ever.  Seriously, it was the size of my living room and the food was outstanding.

My favorite meals in Denmark were actually at my friend’s house and on the houseboat.  Of course, these are the ones I didn’t bother to photograph.  I got one, of the last night, where we were using up all the food.

IMG_0358

Finally, Valentine’s Day happened and in the spirit of posting food from outside my kitchen (as this post has been), I was gifted these adorable creatures of chocolate from L.A. Burdick’s.  Almost too cute to eat.  Almost.

IMG_0089IMG_0090

 

Stay tuned.  I’m hoping to use this snowy, at home day to catch up a bit on posts.  And you know, get some work done…

One thought on “So Sorry… or What I’ve Been Up To for, oh, seven months…

Leave a Reply

