More Sweet Things

I am constantly, CONSTANTLY, thinking that I need to cut back on sugar.  Not candy, so much, as I am able to resist that but cookies, cakes, brownies, bars, ice cream, etc.  So every few weeks, I decide I am done and I stop eating desserts.  Which lasts between two hours and two days.  Then I remember that I am over 40, I work out almost daily and I will never be thin.  Therefore, why should I deny myself the yumminess?

So, in the last few months, I’ve made a bunch of different sweet things.  I managed to photograph the final product but not usually the process.

First were these divine cookie dough bars.  They taste like raw cookie dough but have no eggs in them so they are safe to eat.  I have to say, I found them very, very sweet and rich and had to cut them into smaller pieces.  But, so good.  Note: the chocolate topping has peanut butter in it but I suspect could be left out if you so desired.

The kids and I made a vanilla chocolate chip cake with milk chocolate ganache frosting, just because.  It, too, was delicious.  But I can’t remember what recipe I used.  I do remember facetiming my math friend to help me figure out the ratio for the ganache.  (Insert eye roll here, for me not being able to do fractions on my own).

I attended an event at a friend’s that was titled “My Drunken Neighbor Totoro Night”.  We watched this wonderful, beloved movie and, well, drank.  Or at least they did.  I know my limits, and as the oldest person in the room by at least 20 years, I stuck to water.  But Micah and I made Totoro cookies for the occasion.  They were a pretty good first attempt but I am sure I can do better.  Micah, on the other hand, is a master cookie cutter outer.  We used this sugar cookie dough and glazed them with the chocolate ganache.

Finally, we just celebrated Purim.  In our house that means we read the Purim story (which is way darker than I remember!) and make hamanaschen.  We used this recipe and then were a little…. creative…. with our filling.  We had traditional strawberry and blueberry.  But we also used mini reeses cups, milk duds (SO GOOD), Israeli chocolate spread and caramel chips.

See? Why give up sweet things?  All in moderation, right?

Leave a Reply

