Fast Savory Meals For Winter

In my last post, I featured all sweet things.  In this one, I want to share with you two fast, savory, yummy meals that we’ve been eating lately.

The first is this soup, which I posted about a few years ago, had in pretty serious rotation and then… forgot.  I am so glad I remembered it because it is so good.  Slightly spicy, warm, full of healthy vegetables and soothing noodles.  This time around, I used onion, garlic, ginger, mushrooms, baby bok choy and carrots.  I think I added chicken that I had previously baked as well.  Soy sauce, sriracha and a dash of fish sauce rounded out the broth.

I’m not kidding when I tell you that this soup was gone in two days.  Twenty minutes to make.  Amazing flavor.  No regrets.

When I was traveling, I had the chance to read for fun (imagine that!) and i ended up reading Ruth Reichl’s Garlic And Sapphires:  The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise.  It’s a delightful read and she sprinkles in recipes here and there.  I was intrigued by her Spaghetti Carbonara recipe which she says is “the perfect last minute dinner, and I’ve yet to meet a child who doesn’t like it.”

While it was in fact, easy and good for a last minute dinner, of course MY children didn’t like it.  Which is fine, really.  More for me!

Leave a Reply

